Meatloaf, Smeatloaf, Double-Beatloaf. I Hate Meatloaf!

Much like Randy from A Christmas Story (and our own Abigail), I have never been much of a fan of meatloaf. There are rare exceptions, mind you, and my husband loves the stuff, so I occasionally try out various recipes.

In my opinion, it’s a pain in the neck and gross to make. Plus it’s not ever been something I’ve enjoyed eating so the combination is not great.

Until I found THIS meatloaf recipe. Mind you, it’s just one of those yahoo recipes. But I modified it to my family’s liking and it is now one of our favorite dinners. Yes, ALL OF US. Even the children who definitely do not like meatloaf. Add to that how easy it is to make and it’s a hit!

Meatloaf dinner!

I promise you, it’s far better than your ordinary meatloaf. In fact, I had to start doubling the recipe because we would eat the entire thing and then look mournfully at the platter. I guess I didn’t believe the original recipe when it said that it served four….

Yummy Meatloaf!

2 pounds ground beef (I use chuck for the flavor)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 teaspoons onion powder
4 tablespoons ketchup
2/3 cup plain breadcrumbs

  • Preheat oven to 375.
  • Mix all above ingredients using your hands (gets it mixed through more evenly) or the hands of a willing volunteer (my daughter actually makes this meatloaf for us now. My only actual step is putting the stuff in the oven, which she could probably do herself at 12. I’m just paranoid…).
  • Form into two free-form loaves on a baking sheet (make sure they aren’t too close to one another!)
  • Mix 1 cup ketchup, 1 teaspoon light brown sugar, and some squirts of sriracha together in a bowl to create a glaze (note: i find that we use more and more sriracha each time we make this, because a lot of the heat cooks out).
  • spread the glaze evenly over both loaves.
  • Bake for 45-50 minutes, allowing to sit out for 15 minutes before slicing.

 

Meatloaf out of the oven and on a serving plate!

We like to eat it with chivey mashed potatoes, steamed veggies, and onion rings (I use the Alexia frozen ones, tossed in the oven. No they do not pay me for this endorsement but those are the best frozen onion rings I’ve tasted… seriously.), but you can serve it however you’d like!

What dishes have always made you say “bleh” but have suddenly become a staple of your cooking? And… how do you feel about meatloaf? I can’t WAIT for Abigail to try this one out and let me know how she likes it…

6 thoughts on “Meatloaf, Smeatloaf, Double-Beatloaf. I Hate Meatloaf!

  1. I love meatloaf! I’ve made it so many different ways and no matter what I toss in, it’s always inhaled by my guys. I’ve never followed a recipe, though. Sometimes I use breadcrumbs, or rolled oats, or crunched up corn chips, or Ritz cracker crumbs. No matter what, I always use salt, pepper, garlic powder, chopped onions, 2-3 eggs, Worcestershire sauce, ketchup, mustard, A1, Heinz 57, and a glug of milk. 🙂

    Yours looks delicious, Lizzie! Makes me want some right this very minute!

  2. My dad used to make meatloaf with eggs and bread crumbs to keep it glued together. It sure worked. 🙂

    When I went low-carb, I couldn’t make that version, though, but eventually I figured out how to use ground turkey for meatloaf and it came out even better, and with a lot less fat. Of course, I killed the low fat element by draping it with bacon and smothering it in ketchup.

    Now that I’ve gone veg, I haven’t played with meatloaf in a while, but I’m sure there are other versions. The turkey version is still the fave here. I might have to give this one a try, though. (Not for me; for the boys.)

    • Eggs and breadcrumbs is definitely the more traditional. I think I just got burnt out on it or something. Not sure. I love this one, though, really. See how the boys like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

