Salad Days, part 2

I tried Abigail’s idea for tuna/pasta salad, plus I added whatever fell out of the refrigerator a few other things to experiment with flavors. The end result…mmm!

I did have a picture of it, I swear. I took the picture with my phone, sent it to myself, and forgot that on occasion, my phone doesn’t fully send the pictures. Ask me about half the pics I took at The Color Run that are now lost in the ethernet somewhere. My bad; I emailed it to myself, trusted the phone deleted the photo, went to my computer, and found out oops, no picture. 😦

But I’ll recreate the recipe from memory because believe me, I’ll make this again. It wasn’t just Power Salad for me; I have a sick old kitty who doesn’t like to eat much, but she loves the juice from the tuna cans. One bowl of tuna juice and she ran around the house like a kitten again! Not to mention, she wouldn’t leave me alone for the rest of the day, swirling and dancing around my ankles ’til I pet her. What is *in* this stuff? Anyway, when I’m carbo-loading prior to the Runner’s World Half Marathon in October, I think this will be my lunch of choice.

PowerSalad:

garden rotini pasta (I made a full box but only used half)

6 hard boiled eggs

1 roma tomato

1 can tuna, drained

half a can of medium pitted black olives

4 tbsp mayo (I don’t like the lite stuff; it doesn’t taste right)

2 tbsp dried minced onions (next time I’ll use fresh but dried has a nice, light flavor to it)

garlic salt, celery salt, black pepper (all to taste)

Cook and drain the pasta, rinsing extensively in cold water to arrest the cooking process. Peel and dice the hard boiled eggs. Slice the olives in half. Dice the tomato.

Mix all ingredients in a large salad bowl, chill and serve.

I swear, next time I make this—probably this weekend—I’ll take a picture. I’ll also get a picture of the banana bread I made this weekend, only I didn’t get a picture of it before it was all gone. Really, in this house, I need to be Quick Draw McGraw with the camera.

This entry was posted in Carla by carlakempert. Bookmark the permalink.

About carlakempert

Fiction Writer wannabe; mom of 2 boys (one teenager, one with autism); addicted crocheter/knitter; BIG fan of the iPod and the Philadelphia Phillies. Ask me about my camera, too. Or better yet, say cheese!

4 thoughts on “Salad Days, part 2

  1. That does sound really good! 🙂 I would totally make that if my kids would eat tuna. Hmmm… maybe I’ll sneak it in anyway. Or? Just make it for my own lunches! 😀

    Thanks for this! And I completely get the problem with the phone. I’ve had that before…

    • Lizzie, I didn’t think mine would like tuna either. Then I sent the youngest to summer day camp and one of the lunch options was chicken or tuna salad. I didn’t think to send him with lunch that day so I figured he’d try it and tell me how much he hated it. Turns out, he loves it!

      For my recipe, though, there’s only one can and a LOT of pasta, so you might be able to hide it. 🙂 One extra tomato and I bet they don’t even notice.

  2. When I first imagined the taste of tuna in my pasta salad I definitely thought yuck. But the ingredients that happened to fall out of your fridge sound like the perfect combination. What luck! I’m going to make it!

    • I had the same reaction, Lis. There’s pasta salad and there’s tuna salad, and never the ‘twain shall meet, right? But it’s really not bad. On my next trip to Wegmans, I’m going to see if I can snag some of that gluten-free pasta Mary likes so much. Then it’ll be that much better.

      Plus it made the cat *really* happy, and that’s always good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

