Buy Local

Sorry I’m a little late today. Yesterday I took my kids to an amusement park and I think I left my brain on the roller coaster. It’s a long story and not very appetizing, but I’m happy to say I lived to write again.

Anyway, this being nearly the end of Summer 2012, there’s often more to do than there is time to do it all. The other day I decided I wanted someone else to make me lunch so after the gym, I went to a local sandwich shop that specializes in something called “tomato pie“. Since I’m trying to cut back on carbs, I didn’t get any, which is heartbreaking because this stuff is unreal. It’s like cold pizza but no mozzarella. The sauce is rich and flavorful, and the bread is soft and fresh. It’s a well known local delicacy, and a staple at company parties, school get-togethers, and any time I don’t feel like cooking but the boys want pizza. I’ve had tomato pie from other places, but nothing beats Corropolese. Sorry, everybody else.

Anyway, in my attempt to avoid carbs, I chose a few other things: red skin potato salad, seafood salad (complete with shrimp), and cucumber salad. Feast your eyes:

That swipe on the lid behind the potato salad? That’s me, not being able to resist a taste before I took the picture.  🙂

There is NOTHING quite like eating local in the summer time. All the food is fresh-made and perfect for eating right out of the container when it’s too hot to turn on the stove/grill! Yes, cucumber salad is something I could make myself, but they slice it so thin, it’s a treat. They’re also more liberal with the sugar than I am, though overall, there are so few calories in cucumber salad, it’s hardly a meal. Which is why I got the seafood salad.

(I do occasionally indulge in seafood, which makes me a pescetarian, technically speaking. PS, tomorrow is my 1 year anniversary of giving up meat. I’ve had it twice since then–once voluntarily, once due to circumstances beyond my control; the menu was not clear–and paid dearly for it both times. Not a choice I choose to make again.)

Yes, Philadelphia is known for cheesesteaks, but if you go just 20 minutes farther to Norristown, I’ll take you out for hoagies and tomato pie. You can thank me later.

BTW, that block in the background is a Pepperoni Brick. I’d never heard of it but my youngest LOVES pepperoni anything, so I thought it’d be worth a try. It was bread baked with pepperoni and cheese in it, and it didn’t see two sunsets because Alex scarfed it down like he’d never seen food before.

So tell me, what’s your favorite local delicacy that the rest of us can’t lay hands on?

3 thoughts on “Buy Local

  1. My favorite is the Nookwich. It’s a gourmet ice cream sandwich made by a local ice cream parlor called The Ice Cream Nook. What makes this ice cream sandwich so spectacular is well…everything!

    The cookies are homemade or store-made but with fresh ingredients. The cookies melt in your mouth! And the ice cream…

    The ice cream is whichever flavor you like best. My personal fav is White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle. Yum!

    Since going gluten-free, I’ve had to forgo the yummy cookies, but the Ice Cream Nook makes the awesome sundaes!

    Best ice cream…EVER!

    PS…If you want to see what The Nookwich looks like, go here! http://www.icecreamnook.com/

  2. I went to the Farmer’s Market Saturday and had my youngest with me. In an attempt at bribery (since he didn’t want to go), I let myself be convinced to buy fresh-squeezed juice made with five types of orange! Soooooooooo delicious!

  3. Okay, all three of those salads look amazing! I love potato salad, but if it has celery in it you’ll find a little graveyard of the stuff left on the corner of my plate. I don’t seem to have an issue with it in anything else. Weird, I know.

    I’d have to say D’Lites is the most amazing ice cream I’ve ever eaten. It’s low in sodium, sugar, fat, and carbohydrates. It’s cholesterol free, and a healthier alternative to regular ice cream and it doesn’t taste like it is! I had no idea there are more locations across the U.S., but it’s so good our little town has two stores! http://www.dlitesemporium.com/

Leave a Reply

