Gluten Free Girl Takes on Angel Food Cake

So I was visiting my brother-in-law last weekend and he asked me if I knew of any recipes for a gluten-free angel food cake. I didn’t but thought it couldn’t be that complicated. I could surely wing it. 🙂

I researched recipes online and in cookbooks of both regular angel food cake and gluten-free, then I decided to shuck it all and try my own way. I so confident that I could do this, I even invited my sons to help with the recipe. I’m thrilled to say, it was a resounding success!

Gluten-Free Angel Food Cake

1 ½ C Confectioner’s Sugar (divided in half)

¼ C All Purpose Gluten-Free Flour

¾ C Garbanzo Bean Flour

½ tsp Xanthan Gum

½ tsp Sea Salt

1 ¾ C Egg Whites

1/3 C Warm Water

1 ½ tsp Cream of Tartar

¼ tsp Almond Extract

½ tsp Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium bowl, sift together flours, salt, xanthan gum, and 3/4 cup of confectioner’s sugar. Sift flour/confectioner’s sugar mixture three more times. (Sifting is your friend in this recipe. It helps to aerate the flour to make the cake light and fluffy.) Set bowl aside.

In a large bowl, mix vanilla extract, almond extract, water, cream of tartar, and egg whites. Using a hand mixer, beat on medium speed until blended (took me 4 minutes) then beat on high-speed until the egg white mixture forms stiff peaks and the mixture itself appears smooth. Turn of hand mixer and set it aside. 🙂

Sift the flour mixture into the egg whites a 1/4 at a time. Using a baking spatula, fold the egg whites gently until the flour is thoroughly blended in.

Pour batter into a tube pan. Carefully run the spatula through the batter to release any air bubbles then use the spatula to smooth down the top. The pan will be about 3/4 full.

Place pan in the center of the oven. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Cake is ready when top is lightly golden brown, springs back after finger touch and a toothpick inserted into the cake near the center comes out clean.

Remove pan from oven. Wait five minutes then run a knife along the inner and outer edges of the cake. Carefully invert the pan onto a cooling rack. Allow cake to cool for one hour.

Serve with your favorite fruits and whipped topping!

8 thoughts on “Gluten Free Girl Takes on Angel Food Cake

    • When you have a child who rarely eats anything of nutritional value, you learn to sneak in protein and veggies into his favorite foods. Chickpea (garbanzo bean) flour is full of protein.

      And that Xanthan gum is Gluten-Free girl’s staple to baking. It’s like using baking soda in baking recipes with wheat flour. 🙂

    • I can’t say I’ve ever had sugared strawberries. And I’m excited at how well the cake turned out. Most recipes call for either almond extract or vanilla extract but when using chickpea/garbanzo bean flour, it helps to use both. Without them, the cake will still be light and fluffy but have a strange aftertaste.

      On the hand, with the two extracts, most folks won’t be able to taste the difference between gluten-free and not. 😀

      • I just take fresh strawberries and sprinkle them with sugar, mix it up, then let them sit in the fridge until they’ve become macerated. If the strawberries are very tart, use more sugar. Less if they’re already pretty sweet.

        Oh my gosh…I love the smell of almond extract! I think I could bathe in it. 😉

      • Yes! Sprinkle liberally and let them chill for few hours. Wonderful on cheesecake, pancakes, waffles, spongecake, etc. Blueberries are my absolute favoritest fruit. 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Gluten-Free Girl and the Birthday Cake (Part 2) | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

