Oh, Fudge. ;-)

Wanna know the best thing about being a vegetarian? Sweets are still on the menu.

I have THE world’s biggest sweet tooth. It gets in the way when I chew. Well, not really, but it’s big. My ex was a starch person so he loved anything to do with potatoes and bread. He didn’t understand me and my love of candy, chocolate, sugar, sweets, all that fun stuff. He didn’t understand a lot about me, but that’s beside the point.

The boys and I spent the weekend at my parents’ house in upstate NY, and while I took my practice miles on the treadmill, my son and my mom made fudge. I got off the treadmill just in time to see my son making off with the mixing bowl and spoon. (The stinker. He’s lucky I took him home.) But truly, I’m in training and the last thing I need to do is mess it up with sweets. To paraphrase the Runner’s World motivational poster, “Later, when I’m done with the RW Half Marathon, I shall have fudge.” 🙂

Prepping for after-race as much as the race itself, I went looking for my favorite fudge recipe and found it. It includes marshmallow creme and when I make it, it *doesn’t* include nuts. Don’t nut the fudge. It’s against the laws of nature.

Carla’s Favorite Fudge

Tin foil is optional, though. I prefer to use a glass pan so I can cut right into it and not eat aluminum by accident, because believe me, in my house, people will scarf this down so fast, they won’t notice the metal stuck in their teeth. Or elsewhere.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Oh, Fudge. ;-)

  1. Oh, baby.

    I’m totally with you on the nuts. WHY ruin good chocolate with NUTS?? It’s nu… er… crazy! And this goes for cookies and candy bars, too (except for white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. Those are YUM).

    The fudge looks amazing, but I’m cheering you on for that half marathon. GO CARLA!!

    • Thanks! Personally I think I’m a little…er…nuts for doing it, but I want to know if I can. I want to try. That seems to be my motto in life and in the kitchen. 🙂 (Up yours, Yoda.)

Leave a Reply

