Gluten-Free Girl & The Comfort Food Dilemma

Before I went gluten-free, if I needed a comfort food, I just went to the store and bought it. Cookies, cakes, pies…you name it.

Being gluten-free, I usually have to make my own comfort foods. Now that’s not bad if you’ve got the time, but for a quick fix… Forget about it!

At least, that’s what I used to think. But lately, I’ve noticed the Gluten-Free aisles at the grocery stores are filling up with prepackaged comfort foods. 🙂

The Schar company makes several different varieties of cookies, including Ladyfingers! Yes! Ladyfingers–one of the key ingredients in Tiramsiu. Something I never thought I’d get to eat again.

Anyway, Schar has five different types of cookies to choose from. Now, I’m sure you’re thinking, so what, Mary? You can bake them. True…but when I get a hankering for a snack, sometimes I don’t want to bake. (Shhh…don’t tell the other chicklets I said that.) 😉

The other thing to note is that more and more schools are tightening regulations on foods that can be sent in for class parties. As of this year, no homemade baked goods are allowed in my boys’ elementary school without prior approval from the principal.

This is where prepackaged food comes in handy. It’s quick, convenient and the kids with Celiac’s or gluten intolerance can participate in the class parties. 🙂

BTW–Glutino is another lifesaver in the comfort food department. They have six different types of cookies including wafers. Plus, Glutino has PIZZA. (I know, not a cookie but it’s definitely a comfort food.)

So, it turns out going gluten-free won’t stop you from eating and sharing your comfort foods. You just have to know where to find them.  (But the sharing is totally up to you!) 🙂

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl & The Comfort Food Dilemma

  1. Yay on more snacky items! You do far more baking than I do and I don’t blame you one bit for wanting to be able to just reach for something good without having to pull out the mixer and 10 ingredients to have it. 🙂

    • Unless you cook like Paula Dean. 😐 I’m sure all her food tasted heavenly, it certainly wasn’t very healthy. But like I always say, all things in moderation.

Leave a Reply

