Topless Eggplant

Sorry for going MIA. Now that the kids are back in school, my schedule has gone haywire. I almost can’t wait for October 22nd, when my half-marathon training and my son’s soccer season are both over. I’ve already scheduled it as a vacation day in which I shall do nothing more stressful than flip channels on the TV, read, and knit.

So, the recipe. Sounds enticing, doesn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ As a vegetarian, eggplant is my version of steak. Recently my favorite local winery, Clover Hill,ย shared an eggplant recipe that I feel compelled to share here.

Topless Grilled Eggplant

 

8-1/2 inch slices of crusty bread

extra virgin olive oil

1 medium eggplant sliced crosswise 1 inch thick

salt and pepper to taste

4 plum tomatoes, sliced crosswise 1/4 inch thick

3/4 pound fresh mozzarella, sliced 1/4 inch thick

1 handful of fresh basil torn into pieces

Heat grill to medium high heat. Brush both sides of bread with olive oil and toast over the grill. Transfer to a platter. Turn heat to medium on grill. Brush eggplant with olive oil and season with salt and pepper to taste. Grill till eggplant is tender and charred on both sides, about 6-8 minutes. Top the eggplant with tomato, mozzarella and basil. Grill until the cheese is melted then transfer the eggplant to the bread.

– – – – – – – – – –

The weekend was crazy or I’d have tried this (and taken pictures to show you) but I intend to get that done this coming weekend. Clover Hill highly recommends serving this lovely dish with their Turtle Rock Red or Chambourcin. Personally, I’m all about the Catawba, but choose whatever floats your boat.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Topless Eggplant

  1. I just made some eggplant parmesan the other day and it was SO GOOD. I love eggplant. I don’t know whether it’s a blessing or curse that I’m the only one in my family that eats it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Let me know when you make the topless kind.

Leave a Reply

