Guest Mona Karel: Low Carb Green Chile Cheese Cauliflower Bread

We’re so glad to welcome back our low-carb cooking friend, Mona Karel! Yay! She’s giving herself a break from writing her next book. Don’t take too long of a break, Mona; your awesome stories won’t write themselves. 😉 Chicklets readers, you should check out her website where she shares more low-carb recipes such as her baked zucchini cheese sticks and her amazing chocolate fudge!

Anyone who has embarked on low carb eating has heard about cauliflower cheese “bread,” which also serves well as a crust for pizza.   With my new found appreciation for the white stuff, I’ve tried and enjoyed several of these recipes.  This being the land of the green chile and me being who I am of course I had to make some adjustments.  After much gluttony sacrifice in the search for the perfect green chile cheese bread, I do believe I’ve come up with something that works.

Ingredients, measured out (something I rarely do!)

– One cup cauliflower, grated or processed
– One cup grated cheese
– One egg
– 1/3 cup green chiles, drained
– 1/3 cup ground flax
– splash of olive oil

The basics

Beat the egg.  Add everything else. Put parchment paper, or the new paper/foil on your tray. Add a bit of olive oil to the paper.  Pat the mixture out flat.  Bake at 400 degrees F until it’s done.  Enjoy.

The details
I use either fresh or frozen cauliflower.  If fresh, I use my larger food processor and the grating attachment.  A medium sized head of cauliflower makes up to 3-4 cups grated.  The one pound bag of frozen, mostly thawed, then drained, I use my smaller food processor and whiz up about half a cup at a time.  Any ground cauliflower leftovers can refrigerate for a few days. You don’t want the cauliflower pulverized, just chopped up fine.  The first pictures show some I had left from an earlier batch.
Grated cheese can be whatever you have on hand. I tend to buy the pregrated when it’s on sale, and freeze it.
I’m using the frozen chopped because it’s more convenient plus available year round.

If you’re using that new paper/foil stuff, be sure to put the foil side down.  Yeah, speaking from experience.  The cool thing is, any leftover can be folded into the foil and stuck in the refrigerator.

I’m playing with the idea of making a cracker base for hors d’ouevres.  So this last time I used the pizza rolling slicer to cut the bread up into smaller squares when it was almost done.  That’s going to work out pretty well. Oh, and I added a tablespoon of chia seed, which makes it even healthier.

For toppings, if you need any, try a soft cheese: Havarti, Brie, Port Salu. Or, of course, butter.  Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Guest Mona Karel: Low Carb Green Chile Cheese Cauliflower Bread

  1. Lis’Anne thanks for finding space for one of my favorite recipes! Just recently I worked on a cheese/almond meal bread stick which came out as more of a cracker but was still really yummy. Great base for the frittata a friend brought to the brunch so I could eat something. I do like my friends!!!!

    • Thank you for sharing, Mona! I think this bread looks great and can imagine all sorts of yummy toppings for the crackers. A schmear of melted brie and dab of pepper jelly would be awesome. 🙂

  2. The original recipe was without chile, that’s just my New Mexico transfusion! I bet the sun dried tomatoes would be wonderful. Also, you don’t have to use hot green chiles, they come very mild.
    If you use an Italian cheese, then you can make this for a pizza base. I’ve since tried it with mashed cauliflower: yummmmmmmmmmmmm.
    plus maybe a spoonful of chia seeds for extra nutritional oomph

  3. A low-carb diet is generally used to lose weight. Some low-carb diets say that they have health benefits beyond weight loss, such as reducing risk factors associated with heart disease, certain cancers, diabetes and metabolic syndrome. `–”

    Most current post produced by our personal internet page
    <http://wellnessdigest.cokp

Leave a Reply

