Gluten-Free Girl Returns

Hi Chicklets & Roosters! I’ve missed y’all!

Sorry I’ve been away so long but here in the Commonwealth of Virginia life just doesn’t slow down, especially when school starts! In fact, I’ve been running so hard dealing with the kidlets having various issues from forgotten homework to hives to a broken wrist, that I’ve barely had time to feed myself.

Not good.

It’s easy to take care of my boys, they’re not gluten-free. But when I’m eating on the run, I usually get to choose between grease and greasier. Yuck! Still, amazingly, I had time to actually cook this week.

Sort of.

I hate leftovers. I try to cook as sparingly as possible, so I never have to deal with them. My husband on the other hand loves them. On Monday morning, he handed me a tupper full of leftover chicken and said, “Here, can you make something out of this?”

Has he met me? πŸ˜›

But, I experimented and took the easy way out. I tossed the chicken, some Adobo spice and water into a crock-pot then let it go. I sat and typed for hours on my current WIP while the leftovers cooked themselves.

The mashed potatoes didn’t go in the crock-pot but they were made from fresh potatoes!

By 8 that night I’d served a crock-pot chicken dinner that wasn’t half bad and revised 50 pages of my WIP. So life is good. I think next time, I’ll try to find a recipe to follow. Now that I know I can use my crock-pot with success, I think I need to get more creative. πŸ˜€

So, with that in mind…do you have any great slow cooker recipes you’d like to share?

8 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl Returns

  1. Oh, honey. I use my crock twice a week, usually. πŸ™‚ I’m sure you looked at our crock pot tag here, too.

    Our staple is chili, I think it’s only my kids’ favorite because I always have guac to serve with it. Lately I’ve been doing a turkey breast with seasonings and cranberry sauce. I think there’s something else but I can’t remember.

    Ooh – check out the site A Year of Slow Cooking – http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

  2. We love leftovers so much that I usually make more than will feed the fam in one sitting just so the guys have “fast food” when they’re on the run.

    My favorite for leftover chicken is chopping it up and sauteing it with minced garlic/diced onions, salt/pepper, sun-dried tomatoes, artichokes, and a glug of red wine. Serve it over a bed of your favorite pasta. Add some of the pasta water if it seems too dry.

    • Kristal, tell me more! One of my critique partners makes an awesome poppy seed chicken dish that she serves over rice. I’d love to hear what you use to pull your casserole together. I’m always looking for new, creative ways to use leftovers so they seem brand new. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

