Weathering the Storm

Hugs to all of you who came through Hurricane Sandy last week. The worst that happened here was a busted furnace, which is on the road to replacement.

Meanwhile the house is kind of cold, but there are ways around that. My favorite alternative is to keep the oven active, thus accomplishing two goals: the kitchen stays warm, and the whole house smells good. Monday as the storm fired up, I made a gigantic pot of tortellini soup.

Here’s how I did it:

– 2 boxes vegetable broth (I couldn’t find veggie so I went with chicken broth; sue me)

– 2 packages frozen cheese-filled tortellini

– 1 6 oz. bag of fresh baby spinach

– 3 large carrots, peeled and sliced into coins

– 3 ribs of celery, sliced

– 3 plum tomatoes, cut into chunks

– 1 small can of mushrooms

– 2 small garlic cloves, diced to death

– seasonings to taste; my preference is garlic but I also used pepper and oregano, crushed by hand

I combined everything but the tortellini in a very large pot and let it simmer for nearly an hour, letting the spinach cook down. Then I stirred in the tortellini and let it simmer another five minutes or until the tortellini was cooked through. Serve with warm crescent rolls and enjoy! I know I sure did.

We’re expecting a Nor’easter on Wednesday. As long as the power holds out, I think I’ll bake cookies this time. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Weathering the Storm

  1. WoW!! This is definitely much easier than my recipe.
    Your picture has me smacking my lips…… LOL!! Yummy for my tummy!
    I am going to try your way this weekend, even though we are going to be in the upper 70’s, kind of warm for soup, to me it’s soup season year round here at our house.
    Have a nice day and be safe!

    • I agree, Dalila. Soup season is year ’round for me, too. Who made up that soup rule anyway? I mean, we eat other hot foods in the spring and summer, why would soup not be included? 😉

Leave a Reply

