Gluten-Free Girl and the Best Pizza EVER

One of the hardest things about going gluten-free is giving up pizza. Yes, I know a couple of the big-name chain pizza places now tout a gluten-free pizza, but read the fine print. It specifically states there is a risk of cross-contamination. Something as simple as a pizza prep worker not switching gloves between preparing a wheat flour pizza and a gluten-free pizza can mark trouble or disaster for GF consumers.

And let’s face it, gluten-free frozen pizza does not come in a variety of choices. So when I stumbled across frozen gluten-free crusts at my local grocery store, I snapped them up.

I know what you’re thinking, frozen?! But trust me, these square babies allow me more freedom in my pizza making decisions than I’ve had in almost two years. 🙂

Suddenly, I found myself HAPPILY grocery shopping as I searched for my ideal ingredients to add to my pizza. The result was so yummy!

Back when I was pregnant with Frickus and Ferbus, I developed a yen for high-quality spinach pizza. And I’ve never lost that craving.

Saturday night, at the urging of son #1 (or Ferbus) I decided to test my quasi-culinary skills and was excited by the results. Unfortunately, today’s recipe was more of an eyeball it than actual measuring. 😉

Gluten-Free Spinach & Feta Pizza

1 Gluten-Free Crust

1/4 can Chopped Spinach (drained)

Mushrooms

1/2 c mozzarella

1/4 c Mild Cheddar

1/2 c Feta cheese crumbles

2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Italian Parmesan & Garlic Seasoning

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Remove crust from package and place on pizza baking stone. (You can just put it on a cookie sheet, but the baking stone will make the bottom crisp.)

In a dipping dish, mix together Italian seasoning and olive oil. Brush the top of the crust with the oil mixture. It doesn’t need to be a heavy coat; however, ensure the entire top has been brushed.

Using a fork, spread the drained spinach across the crust. Leave a 1/4 inch edge on each side. Top with mushrooms. Evenly spread the mozzarella cheese over entire pizza, then do the same with the cheddar. Sprinkle on feta crumbles.

Place pizza on center rack of oven for about 20 minutes. It’s ready when the edges are brown and the cheese is melted. (FYI: The lower heat requires a longer baking time but ensures the square pizza is heated all the way through.) 😉

Dish onto a a plate. Slice and eat.

As you can see from the picture, my drink was a Root Beer Float, courtesy of Ferbus. He selected the night’s menu and apparently floats were a requirement.

You now know my favorite pizza, what’s yours?

 

7 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl and the Best Pizza EVER

  1. I think of you every time I see a gluten-free advertisement.

    My favorite pizza came from a local place. Now, I like strange ingredients on my pizza – broccoli, banana peppers, you know. This time I had eggplant.

    I’ve had eggplant on my pizza before, and it’s hit or miss. Sometimes it’s not tender enough and sometimes it’s too mushy. But this was PERFECT. Flavorful and tasty and I didn’t have to gnaw through it to bite some off. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

    • Wow. I’ve never even thought of eggplant on my pizza. I might have to try that.

      Here’s something to make you laugh…Pizza night was last Saturday. On Monday, while writing, I took a break to make myself another pizza. I accidentally mixed up the bottles of cooking oil. I brushed canola oil on the crust.

      EWWW!! 😛

      Don’t make that mistake folks! Olive Oil only! 🙂

  2. Given my choice, I’m totally a Hawaiian pizza girl — ham and pineapple all the way. But I also like mushroom, sausage and green pepper and supreme. Basically, the more toppings, the better.

Leave a Reply

