Banana ice cream: Try it, you’ll love it

Yum!

After getting the invite to join this blog, I was poking around the Chicklets’ kitchen, trying to get a feel for things.

I was shocked  — shocked, I tell you — to see y’all haven’t tried banana ice cream yet. Maybe it’s because banana ice cream, also known as banana soft serve, is ubiquitous on the healthy living blog circuit. For every ten blog posts in my Google Reader, at least two will have a mention of banana soft serve.

Why not? It’s a practically guilt-free treat, being little more than pureed frozen banana.

I’ll let you in on a little secret: You don’t have to waste your money on one of those Yonanas machines to enjoy banana ice cream. What’s yonanas? Spending $50 on what the Food Network’s Alton Brown would call a unitasker, that’s what.

Basic Chocolate Banana Soft Serve

My Magic Bullet and Ninja mini blender do the job just fine, thank you very much. (The Ninja seems just a bit better suited for it, because the Bullet sometimes leaves banana chunks behind.) I’d imagine that if you’re making more than a single serving, you could even use your big-girl food processor. (I haven’t tried that because I don’t make banana ice cream for anyone but me.)

As I said before, as far as treats go, banana ice cream has a lot going for it. Not only is is almost guilt-free (as long as you’re eating carbs), it’s also easy to make and extremely versatile.

The basic recipe:

  • 1 medium to large banana
  • 2 tablespoons liquid

That’s it. Blend together until smooth. You can use cow’s milk, almond milk, coconut milk, soy milk … probably even water or orange juice, depending on the flavor combo you’re after.

Top with walnuts and shredded coconut for extra flavor.

I admit, I rarely make banana ice cream without add-ons. Mine normally include a spoonful of nut butter and perhaps a little cocoa powder.

Some of my favorite combos:

  • 2 T unsweetened chocolate almond milk, 1 T almond butter and 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 2 T unsweetened almond milk, 1 T almond butter
  • 2 T unsweetened almond milk, 1 T coconut butter and 1 tsp coconut

Once you spoon it into a bowl, top with whatever you’d like. I’ve used sliced almonds and coconut over chocolate ice cream (to make Banana-Almond Joy) — and I want to try the coconut butter variety topped with coconut, pineapple and chopped macadamia nuts.

The options are limited only by your imagination.

Go forth, Chicklets, and make guilt-free ice cream! (Then come back and tell me your favorite combo.)

8 thoughts on “Banana ice cream: Try it, you’ll love it

  1. Okay, I’m glad that second picture had chocolate in the caption because it looked kinda gross! But as chocolate, it looked kinda yummy.

    It’s a little too cold here for ice cream, but I’m sure that will change in a couple of weeks. They don’t call it the Sunshine State for nothin’! Thanks for the kick, Arlene.

  2. This fails in comparison to the wonder that is Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey Ice Cream!

    FAILS! 🙂

    (OK, now I need to go and try this recipe…)

  3. Pingback: Mint-Watermelon Pops |

Leave a Reply

