The Root of All (Diet) Evil

Now that I’m post-half-marathon and the training associated with it, I’m trying to keep myself on track. I lost quite a bit of weight in the process but without a “today’s Thursday so I’m running 6 miles” training plan, things have gone by the wayside. Or should I say, waist-side.

I realize this is entirely futile with the holidays just a handful of days away, but really, I don’t get too crazy on Thanksgiving. For starters, I’m the one doing the cooking. There’s no time to stand in the kitchen and pick. My real problem will start when Christmas cookie season kicks into gear. While the furnace was dead and we were waiting on a new one, I baked enough chocolate chip cookies to make me swear to never eat them again. We’ll see how long that lasts. (If you’re interested in signing up for the pool, email me. My pick is three days. It’s a long shot.)

So while I’m trying to be good, I’m also trying to make better choices, and that includes cutting down on refined carbs. Whole grain carbs and high fiber are great but pasta or white bread? No-no. A friend suggested that since I’m also working on building lean muscle, I should try for more protein-based foods, including of all things, peanut butter. I thought, Hey, I like peanut butter. Why not?

Except for one little problem. I had a jar of Nutella in the pantry. It’s true, folks. I have discovered the root of all evil, at least where diets are concerned:

It tastes good but it can’t possibly be good for you. Can it? 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Root of All (Diet) Evil

  1. I understand what you’re talking about. Days I work … I work hard enough to burn off a ton of calories. I will loose six or seven pounds over a 40 hour week (4 / 10’s) Yet when I am off, I eat like a starving wench gaining back all I lost. So I’m in the 170’s up and down up and down. It is of course better than the 225 I was in 2008.

    I just can’t seem to shake the last 20 lbs. My colesterol is high and I need to loose those last nagging pounds. Heck, I’ve lost the same 10 lbs probably 10 times. LOL

    And Nutella, yes indeed it is the root of all evil.

    Eden.

  2. Nutella? It may taste like heaven, but it’s hell on the diet. Didn’t you hear about the woman who’s suing the company? Apparently, she believed the ads dubbing Nutella “part of a healthy breakfast” and thinks it’s their fault her kids are obese.

    So you ran a half marathon, eh? I might have to pick your brain. I’m thinking about doing the Phoenix Rock N Roll Half in 2014. My first race (which I plan to “wog”) is a 5K turkey trot in Sedona on Thanksgiving morning.

  3. Oooo….I happen to LOVE peanut butter and Nutella!
    I strongly suggest you DO NOT eat Nutella, it is an evil, an evil I am close buddies with unfortunately.
    You’ve done good so far, try and stick to what will be better for you.
    Wishing you luck and loads of will-power! 🙂

  4. I use Nutella to bake gluten-free cookies. The only problem is if the boys find it first, there won’t be enough to bake a single cookie, let alone a whole batch.

    Congrats on running the half-marathon! 🙂

  5. Nutella is wonderful, but Abigail’s on the right track: don’t buy it if it’s your dieting Achilles Heel. Seriously, the problem isn’t the product, it’s a lack of resistance to it… which isn’t the Nutella’s fault. It’s not like there’s crack in it. (Unless there is, in which case, I retract this whole comment.)

    In short, don’t blame something seductive if you can’t control your reaction to it.

    Is Nutella evil? No.

    Is it simultaneously delicious and not healthy for you… especially if you can’t open a jar without devouring it all and cutting your lips and or tongue while trying to lick the bottom clean in a single orgy of excess? Yes.

    For the record, there’s a 3/4-eaten jar of Nutella in my kitchen now. It’s been in plain sight for weeks. And all three of us in the house love it. So take heart, Nutella lovers. You *can* eat it in moderation. 🙂

  6. I agree completely with Toni. The Nutella is on my counter, too, and if I want some, I take a spoonful. If I’m making lunch, it’s a tablespoon of Nutella plus a tablespoon of peanut butter on a single slice of whole grain bread. Amazing how good it is at satisfying while killing the sweet cravings.

    Like she said, if you can’t resist digging in for more, hide it from yourself. Do whatever you need to do to keep from going overboard. But there’s a certain proud strength in saying, “I’m better than that. I can resist you.”

    Unless, of course, Channing Tatum knocks on the door. Then, ladies, indulge to your heart’s content. 🙂 I mean in him, not the Nutella, though if combining the two makes you happy, I won’t judge. Hell, I might applaud.

Leave a Reply

