You can’t always get what you want…

…but if you try sometime, you just might find you got what you need.  -Rolling Stones

And what do I want?

A Twinkie.

I know I’m not alone in this.  I can’t remember the last time I had one, but it saddens me to know my kids might not even remember them when they get older.  I preferred Hostess Cupcakes when I was growing up – I was a chocolate girl, even then – but there’s something about a Twinkie, right?

I haven’t tried looking for a box of Twinkies yet, but I’m guessing my chances of finding one aren’t great.  So I can’t always get what I want.  BUT…

Do you know how many Twinkie recipes there are on the web?  Google it.  I’ll wait.

Try sometime.  You just might find you got what you need.

So, what’s going on with you?  Are you part of the reason Twinkies are flying off the shelves (flying Twinkies!  Wheeeee!!) or are you going to make baking them the new tradition in your home?

7 thoughts on “You can’t always get what you want…

  1. I have zero interest in Twinkies. I don’t think I have ever even had one!

    I was brought up as a Little Debbie kid… Oatmeal Creme pies were a favorite, though Swiss Rolls were a close second.

  2. How funny. I just blogged about wanting a Twinkie on my weight-loss blog. It’s been months — or even years — since I had one, and now that I can’t find one anywhere, I can’t stop thinking about them.

    We always seem to want what you can’t/shouldn’t have, don’t we?

  3. Well, have no fear all you Hostess lovers, you might just be in luck.
    The latest news has it that negotiations are back on.
    Seems like there was such an outrage on the soon to be missing sweets, plus the fact that about 18,000 people would be out of a job, they decide that a bit of talking wouldn’t hurt. So cross your fingers for a positive outcome.

    I use to like their fruit pies, Suzy Q’s and donette’s. I haven’t had them in a l-o-n-g time. Since I learned to bake years ago I tend to do all of my ‘sweet-fixins’ at home.
    I think I’m going to poke around the web and see if i can find a recipe for Twinkie’s just for the fun of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

