Guest – Jesse Sullivan of The Bull Rider’s Manager, a giveaway, AND a cornbread recipe. What more could you want?

The Bull Rider’s Manager

I first met Jesse Sullivan when I traveled into author Lynn Cahoon’s brilliant small town of Shawnee, Idaho.  Course, at that time I was all about James Sullivan, Jesse’s brother – even though Jesse had some of that yummy bad-boy attitude.

Speaking of yummy, who doesn’t like a man who can cook?  Jesse is giving away his secret to cornbread, and I’m giving away a copy of either The Bull Rider’s Brother or The Bull Rider’s Manager to one commenter.   So let’s hear your secret, Jesse!

Jesse’s Sure Fire Corn Bread (guaranteed to impress the ladies)

Hi folks, I’m Jesse Sullivan, the bull rider in The Bull Rider’s Brother (June 2012) and The Bull Rider’s Manager (November 2012).  Lynn Cahoon, that’s the woman who’s writing these books, tells me that I’m next on the chopping block, I mean, next to find my happy-ever-after.  I’d rather she just write stories about my friends, really, a guy’s got to have time to sow his wild oats, if you know what I’m saying.  Besides, I’m busy working on something.  Something I haven’t even told my brother about, and he knows everything about me.  Or at least, what I want him to know.

Jeez, you’d think I was on a shrink’s couch or something, listen to me ramble.  You didn’t come to find out more about me, although I am pretty awesome. (Grin)  Lynn says I’m supposed to tell you my recipe for corn bread.  So here’s my secret for an amazing date night and the chicks will be so impressed that you actually baked something, you’ll be in like Flynn, my man.

First, buy two cans of chili, put it in a big pot on the stove with a little water.  Put it on low for at least an hour to get your kitchen smelling like chili. Chicks think it’s homemade.  Seriously.

Then, what I used to do before my mom caught me last year, was open a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix, add 1 egg, 1/3 cup of milk, and a small can of chopped green chili peppers.  Pour into a greased iron skillet and back for 20 minutes.

My mom taught me how to make easy corn bread without the mix.  And believe me, it tastes twice as good. So here we go.

Jesse’s Sure Fire Corn Bread

Heat your oven to 400 degrees.

Mix together in a large bowl:
*1 ¼ cup flour
*3/4 cup cornmeal
*1/4 cup sugar
*2 teaspoons baking powder  (powder, not soda)
*1/2 teaspoon salt

Then in a smaller bowl, beat together

*1 cup milk
*¼ cup vegetable oil
*1 egg
*1 small can chopped green chilis

Mix the wet stuff with the dry stuff, pour into a greased cast iron skillet and bake for 25 minutes.

Almost as easy as the box mix. And women love seeing you with a touch of flour on your cheek.  Let me know how it goes, dudes.  I’ve got to head to Boise for a class. I’m sure Lynn will be around to answer any questions.

Jesse, out.

***

Lynn Cahoon

Lynn Cahoon is a contemporary romance author with a love of hot, sexy men, real and imagined. Her alpha heroes range from rogue witch hunters to modern cowboys. And her heroines all have one thing in common, their strong need for independence. Or at least that’s what they think they want.  She blogs at her website, A Fairy Tale Life.

So what about you?  Do you have a go-to recipe when you’re trying to charm a date?  Or any that you’ve tried that you’ll never try again?  Comment for a chance to win an e-copy of one of Lynn’s Bull Rider books.  Let’s hear it!

Bull Rider’s Manager:

Barb Carico’s life is all about business.  Now that her best friend has tied the knot with her high school sweetheart and Barb’s new partner, she’s busier than ever. Managing Jesse Sullivan’s career and public persona can be a handful. Add in an aging mother who goes through home health nurses like candy, Barb’s hanging on the edge.

Her one salvation?  Hunter Martin, prodigal son of Martin Family Dairy and, hopefully, Jesse’s next sponsor. A promise his father had already made before Hunter took over the public relations department.  After his brother’s death, Hunter’s become an instant dad to his seven year old niece.  More responsibility. For Hunter, the rodeo weekend with Barb is the perfect excuse to relax.

When their dinner turns into drinks and then a quick trip to a Vegas wedding chapel, both Barb and Hunter agree their nuptials were a mistake.  A mistake they consummated the next evening.  As soon as they’re home, the marriage will be annulled. That’s what they both want.  Or at least what they tell themselves.

Upon their return, Hunter finds that distant relatives are suing him for custody of his niece.  The only way for him to keep custody is to design a life that matches the promise of a perfect family.  For that, he needs Barb to stay married to him.  Hunter would give her anything to go along with the charade.

Barb doesn’t know anything about being a wife or mother but she needs one favor.  A favor she’ll trade her lifestyle, independence, and even risk her heart to make come true.

 

8 thoughts on “Guest – Jesse Sullivan of The Bull Rider’s Manager, a giveaway, AND a cornbread recipe. What more could you want?

  1. Sorry I’m a little late dropping by … crazy holiday season’s to blame.

    I confess, I’m like Jesse used to be — a Jiffy cornbread mix gal. I did make a pot of Midwestern chili for one of the guys I went out with. (Canned chili beans, ground beef, a packet of chili seasoning … maybe even some elbow macaroni.) He was from Ohio, I’m from Indiana, so it’s the kind of chili our moms made.

    Nowadays, I can impress the Boyfriend with a nice cheese omelet and bacon. Easy-peasy!

Leave a Reply

