Gluten-Free Girl Takes on Cheesecake Crust

I love cheesecake. Or at least, I did before going gluten-free. Since then, I’ve had a sort of love/hate relationship with the dessert. While I could technically risk it and gnaw on the parts of the cheesecake that do not come into contact with the crust, there’s always the possibility of cross-contamination.

Well, that’s what I thought until a few days before Thanksgiving. Picture it, there I was in the middle of cookie aisle, picking up snacks for my boys when one asked for a package of holiday Oreos. I stared (longingly) at the crinkly wrapped container.

Then it hit me, if folks can grind up the famous sandwich cookie into a crust, then why couldn’t I do the same with a cookie that IS gluten-free.

Thus, the idea Double Chocolate Cheesecake was born. The crust I made out of arrowroot cookies was FABULOUS. The cheesecake was a bit too creamy and almost pie-like. So, I’ll have to work on that recipe.

Here’s the no-bake pie crust recipe that’s great for cream pies and no-bake cheesecakes.

1 Bag Gluten-Free Arrowroot Cookies

2-3 Tbsp Sugar

2-3 Tbsp Unsalted Butter

Using a food processor, grind the cookies into crumbs. (You can also do this with a rolling-pin–but really, why do the extra work? 🙂 ) In a large mixing bowl, combine the cookies, sugar and butter. You’ll need to use your hands, to really blend the mix. Once well-blended, the crust should be moist and ready to press into a springform pan or pie plate.

Once pressed into the pan, add the pie or cheesecake filling.  Chill according to pie or cheesecake directions, then serve.

Here’s a picture of the Double Chocolate Cheesecake Cream Pie. Not quite a cheesecake–but oh, so yummy!

So tell me, have you ever modified a recipe, had it turn it out different from what you’d planned and still considered it a success?

5 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl Takes on Cheesecake Crust

  1. I have done something else with cheesecake in the past. I am not a gluten-free type person, so I don’t think in those terms… but I do try to reduce the amount of sugar being used in recipes on a regular basis, because things are entirely too sweet as it is (Yes, I SAID THAT… FOOD IS TOO SWEET!)

    One thing that I have tried that was an interesting success was to replace all of the sugar in a cheesecake recipe with 2/3 by volume honey. I highly recommend if you are going to do this, use a mild honey… the stronger the honey, the more over-powering it is.

    The cheesecake turned out pretty good, all things considered, and I will probably do it again at some point.

Leave a Reply

