Abigail vs. The Meatloaf

Well, I went and done did it.

I ate meatloaf.

WILLINGLY.

It came down to this:  I was hungry, and my choices were meatloaf or some weird looking seafood spinach au gratin thing.  I took the evil I knew.

And, you know, it wasn’t half bad.  Like meat.  In a loaf.

I couldn’t identify the stuff on top, but I’m thinking it was cooked ketchup.  At first I thought it was bacon, but it didn’t taste like it.

So, now I don’t know what to do.   The thought of cooking one still makes me queasy, but maybe if I had an easy recipe?  Without 20 ingredients?  Anyone want to volunteer one that’s tried and true?

15 thoughts on “Abigail vs. The Meatloaf

  1. I think I must be strange, but I love meatloaf. I think it’s because I like the excuse to slather ketchup over it. I pretty much make the basic recipe in the Betty Crocker cookbook. No cheese. No tomato sauce baked on top. Just plain meatloaf, to which you can add ketchup at the end. Mmmmm.

    I’m not sure what makes you queasy about the process, but I kind of dump everything into my food processor after I’ve chopped the onions and garlic and let my food processor mix everything.

    • It’s just me. I don’t get the same visceral reaction with meatloaf as I do with olives, but it’s there. There’s something about it…

      The process doesn’t make me queasy. It’s the actual meatloaf. And the thought of it.

  2. It’s at times like this that I realize foodies and I live on separate planets. You’ve never had a slice of yummy diner meatloaf? Never made one of those “surprise” meatloaves with a boiled egg in the middle (a favorite of my home ec teachers)?

    My favorite meatloaf, actually, is ground turkey with stuffing as the binder. Or canned salmon with minced carrots and breadcrumbs. Really, I could make meatloaf (and eat it) most days of the week.

    • I’m not really a foodie; I just play one on the web. 🙂

      And I grew up with meatloaf! In fact, one of my family Kitchen Horror Stories centers around meatloaf and oregano. 🙂 But about fifteen years ago… I can’t do it anymore.

      Maybe if I called it a turkey loaf, because that with stuffing sounds GOOD. You should post it as a guest one day. 🙂

  3. Actually, now that I think about it, I think there was an Iron Chef episode where the secret ingredient was meat loaf….

    Hrm… maybe not… maybe what I am thinking of is the fruitcake episode…

    Still, it would make a great episode… 🙂

Leave a Reply

