Pretzel Buttons

I can’t claim this as an original idea. My company has a satellite branch in Bismarck, North Dakota, and one year our offices decided to hold a holiday cookie exchange. What I now call Pretzel Buttons was one of their “cookies”, but they were so tasty that I had to immediately deconstruct how they were made so I could duplicate them. I have to say, I think I even added a small improvement in using Snyders of Hanover Butter Snap pretzels over plain old “wagon wheel” pretzels. Butter Snaps have a tendency to vanish in my house, whether there’s chocolate on them or not.

Pretzel Buttons a la Carla

Hershey Kisses
Hanover Butter Snap pretzels
M&Ms
Pre-heat the oven to 300 degrees.
Unwrap all the Hershey Kisses; put unwrapped Kisses in a convenient bowl.
Cover a cookie sheet with tin foil. Don’t use cooking spray; you won’t need it. Lay out the pretzels in a single flat layer. Since butter snap pretzels are square, you can fill the sheet with pretzels.
Put one Kiss on each pretzel. When each pretzel has a Kiss on it, put the cookie sheet carefully on the center rack of the oven. Let bake for 3 minutes.
Take the cookie sheet out. The Kisses will be soft but not melted through. Put one M&M on the Kiss and push through the chocolate. You can push it until you feel the M&M hit pretzel; it’s good, but not necessary. (You don’t want to smoosh chocolate all over the place.) When each pretzel/Kiss has an M&M on it, put the tray in the refrigerator to cool, at least 30 minutes.
You can also substitue Rolo candies for M&Ms. The caramel makes it extra tasty!
Pictures will be posted as soon as I can figure out why my computer doesn’t want to share. (insert pic of Grumpy Cat meme here.)
2 thoughts on “Pretzel Buttons

  1. I HAVE had these! I remember now. I think the person who made them used white chocolate, though and green and red coloring. It was pretty, but I bet it tastes better with real chocolate. Mmmmmm….

  2. Carla, these sound amazing! I can only imagine what they taste like. I put the ingredients on my list, but all I could find were the mini-rolos and no luck on the round pretzels. 😦 Admittedly, I didn’t run to every store in town so I’m not giving up hope to have these at least by New Year’s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

