It’s the end of the world as we know it (and I feel fine)

I know it’s supposed to be Treat Week, and I had good intentions.  But a coworker came into my office yesterday and announced the End of the World party today.  And to bring a side dish.

Which brings me to The Lawnmower Salad, shamelessly stolen from Lis’Anne.  I made this dish last time we had a luncheon and the crowd went wild!  So I’m bringing it again.  It’s a combination of flavors you wouldn’t think to put together, plus it’s made with uncooked Ramen noodles.  I know, right?  Who thinks of this stuff?

Ingredients!

So,  without further ado.  You will need:

2 packs of chicken ramen noodles
1 bag broccoli slaw
6 green onions, sliced (optional)

1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar (pungent!)
1/4 cup water

1 cup cashew pieces
1/4 cup sunflower seeds

Mix everything together.  Chill for six hours.  Serve.

Okay, there’s a little more too it than that.  But just a little.

Crush the ramen noodles into pieces.  I smash them with a soup can while the noodles are still in the bag.  It’s fun!

Mix the noodles (NOT the seasonings packet) and the slaw, and the onions if you’re using them, in a bowl.

In another bowl. combine everything else, including the seasoning packets but not the cashews and sunflower seeds, and mix well.

Pour the wet mixture over the noodles and slaw.  Mix well.

DEEElicious!

Now, the instructions call for the salad to sit for six hours, and then to add the cashew pieces and sunflower seeds.  I just throw them in after adding everything else.  THEN let it sit for six hours.

I can’t show you the six-hours-later salad, since it’s being served AS YOU’RE READING THIS RIGHT THIS VERY MINUTE NOW, but I’ll see what I can do about getting a picture up later.

So what do you think?  Does this sound like something you might make?  What weird foods have you brought to a pot luck?

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s the end of the world as we know it (and I feel fine)

  1. The first time I ever heard about this recipe (although it was made with coleslaw mix instead of broccoli slaw….my youngest son, who was 14 at the time, and I were taking a cooking class together. I thought it sounded so strange. Now it’s a family and potluck favorite!!

    Other strange things I’ve eaten? Well, I’m from Los Angeles, so sushi, all kinds of weird vegetarian foods, chocolate covered potato chips, chocolate covered bacon, and while in Wyoming, breaded and deep fried pickles.

    • It’s so good, isn’t it? I don’t think I was able to compete with the buffalo chicken dip this time, though. It was YUM.

      OMG, chocolate covered potato chips! Sweet and salty, my favorite combination! And you can’t go wrong with bacon.

  2. I love this stuff! I shamelessly stole it from my sister many years ago. I’ve been known to use the slaw mix or just shredded cabbage. I’ve left out cashews and it tasted just as great, too.

    I thought the whole Mayan “end of the world” thing was kind of funny since the Mayan’s never predicted the end of the world. Just the end of one age and the beginning of a new. 😉

Leave a Reply

