Guest Chick: Shannyn Schroeder

Arlene here. Belated holiday greetings to you all. I hope your New Year is off to a fantastic start. I’ve finally emerged from my writing cave after putting the finishing touches on my entry for the 2013 RWA Golden Heart Contest. I submitted Wednesday afternoon with a few hours to spare.

The bad news is, I gave myself a headache that doesn’t want to quit, so my intro will be short and sweet.

More Than ThisWe had so much fun in the kitchen with Shirley Jump last week that I jumped at the chance to host another guest poster today. Shannyn Schroeder‘s debut novel, MORE THAN THIS, releases today. Her website’s tagline, “Good Girls Go to Heaven, Bad Girls Go Everywhere … Then Write About It,” had me humming Meat Loaf for hours. (Who doesn’t love a good Meat Loaf tune?)

Take it away, Shannyn! 

shannyn-7-199x300Hi – Thanks, Arlene, and the other Chicklets for inviting me to guest post today. I have a confession to make: I’m not much of a drinker. If I’m out and want a social drink, I’m going to stick with something safe, like a margarita. If I’m looking to get drunk, I drink straight Jack Daniels. I don’t experiment and never have. I hardly ever go to bars. But I do have a soft spot for the Irish pubs in Chicago, which is why my book, More Than This, is set in a Chicago pub.

 

While writing the book, I didn’t give any thought to my hero having a signature drink at his second bar. I had an image in my head of what this bar looked like, and what kind of drink he would’ve created for the bar (before writing about drinks, I didn’t even know it was called a signature drink). I made up Blue Smoke as the drink that the heroine, Quinn, gets drunk on in the book. When my editor bought the book, he said he wanted to put the recipe for Blue Smoke in the back of the book.

 

Uh-oh. There was no recipe.

 

So I did some research. I spoke to a couple of mixologists (fancy name for bartenders). One wanted to charge me $200 for creating a recipe. I didn’t want to pay money for the recipe (I hadn’t made any money yet on the book), so I continued to look. Right before my deadline, I emailed the owner of a nearby bar, one that was actually the inspiration for the bar in the book. He graciously gave me a recipe that one of his bartenders created and said I could use it. I owe Johnny Bellinger from Blues Bar in Mount Prospect, IL (www.blues-bar.com) a huge thank you.

 

So here’s the real recipe to go with my made up drink.

blue smoke

Blue Smoke

 

1 oz. Bols Blue Curacao

2 ½ oz. lemonade

2 oz. Stolichnaya Blueberi Vodka

wisp of absinthe

 

Combine everything in a shaker cup and shake until cold. Pour over ice in glass. To make the drink “smoke,” add a sliver of dry ice.

 

Bio:  Shannyn is a former English teacher, who now works as a part-time editor while raising her three kids. Even though she wrote when she was younger, she’d never considered a career as an author. Writing fell by the wayside as she focused on creating lesson plans and new and fabulous ways to torment her teen students. After the birth of baby number two, Shannyn resigned from teaching and fell in love with reading romance novels. The writing bug bit her again, and she hasn’t looked back.

Note: Shannyn has offered to give away a Keeper Kase to one random commenter. The Keeper Kase is a 4×6 photo album to hold signed postcard-sized book covers. Find more info here. (Sorry, international chicks and roosters, the giveaway is good only in the U.S.).

Website www.ShannynSchroeder.com

Twitter @SSchroeder_

 

Blue smoke photo credit: Mundoo via photopin cc

 

Want to get your hands on MORE THAN THIS?

Buy links below:

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/More-Than-This-ebook/dp/B009T9SCOO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352134771&sr=8-1&keywords=more+than+this+schroeder

B&N – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/more-than-this-shannyn-schroeder/1113633559?ean=9781601830074

iBooks – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/more-than-this/id572027192?mt=11

 

 

10 thoughts on “Guest Chick: Shannyn Schroeder

  1. Hi Shannyn!

    Thanks for stopping by Chicklets today. What a fun story about signature drink. Makes me want to try one!

    Congratulations on your book release!

  2. Hi Arlene and fellow Chicklets – Thank you so much for hosting me today. Congrats on getting your GH entry submitted Arlene. I hope you feel better. You’re right – who doesn’t love some Meatloaf?

  3. Pingback: Shannyn Schroeder | Author

  4. I confess, I’m not much of a drinker, either. When I do imbibe, I like mixed drinks like White Russian and Amaretto Sour. Of course, I can’t forget (how’s this for an earworm) the Pina Colada.

    Now, who’s up for a rousing chorus of “Escape (the Pina Colada Song)? 😉

  5. Sorry I’m so late to the party! Isn’t it strange the roads we travel for the sake of research?! I think your editor was brilliant for thinking to add the “real” drink recipe to the back of your book. Major congrats on its release!!!

Leave a Reply

