Resolutions – Salad Days

As I was saying, I hate making resolutions. It’s too much pressure. As the saying goes, “Man plans; God laughs.” Proof: after I said that, my therapist and the leader of my critique group both said, “State your goals for 2013.” Gah. (Waves hi to QV!)

Well, okay. Fill in the usual blanks. Lose weight. Work out more. Meet a hottie at my gym that looks like Thor. Make him fall madly in love with me. Live happily ever after. Tra la la la la la…

Back to reality. I do want to lose weight, and I know I need to eat better. Lately I’ve developed a pasta addiction. It fits the bill in terms of my vegetarian requirements, but my jeans? Not so much. One of these days I’m going to stop a guy with a basketball-sized pot belly and ask him what he eats more of, veggies or carbs. Wanna take a bet he’s all about the bread, pasta, potatoes and beer?

Everything in moderation, people.

To that end, I’ve resolved to have salad for at least one workday lunch per week. Preferably more often, but where I go for salad isn’t cheap. It’s good but saving money is, of course, also on my resolutions this year.

I plan to have more salads at home, thanks to the produce department at my local supermarket, and those I can get more creative with. Ever made a simple lettuce/spinach, tomato, onion, crouton salad with dressing on it? Good but boring, right?

Change up that boring salad. Grill a portobello mushroom, slice and add it to the salad. I wish I knew why but hot on cold turns food awesome for me. (Think warm apple pie a la mode. Who doesn’t like that?) If you’re a carnivore, sliced chicken, steak, or salmon does the same thing. I highly recommend light ranch dressing, too, but use whatever suits your fancy.

Who says you can’t eat healthy and enjoy it too?

And now, Carla’s Joke of the Week:

  • A school teacher asks a student, “John, will you please conjugate the verb ‘to go’ for the class?” The kid begins, “I go… um… you go… ehmm… he goes…” “How about a little faster?” asks the teacher. The kid says, “Sure! I run, you run, she runs…”
5 thoughts on “Resolutions – Salad Days

  1. My favorite salads are topped with meat and cheese … totally Atkins-approved but not so great on Weight Watchers, which is what I joined Jan. 1. Grr … But I wasn’t having any luck with the low-carb thing, so I decided to shake things up. Lost 5+ pounds in the first week, so I must be doing something right, right? Don’t burst my bubble. I already know that rate won’t continue.

    • Yay, you, Arlene! Five pounds is awesome for one week! I’m over here cheering you on. I’ve lost 34 lbs. in the last 8 months. I seem to be stuck on a plateau right now, but I’m determined to push past it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

