Oreo Brownie Evilness

It was my birthday on Sunday. I’ve been around the sun 46 times now, and I figure that’s about the halfway mark so that makes me middle age. Actually, I think I’m middle aged because I’m in that lovely position of being worried about my kids and my parents at the same time, but that’s a post for another day. 🙂

Not sure if you saw the pics going around Facebook last week of a dessert confection that appeared to be a layered brownie cupcake sort of thing: two peanut butter-slathered Oreo cookies with brownie batter poured on top, like so:

Ready for the oven! BTW, tin foil cupcake liners work just fine without the pan. Who knew? :-)

Ready for the oven! BTW, tin foil cupcake liners work just fine as stand-alones. Who knew? 🙂

They make the house smell amazing, and come out of the oven looking like this:

Are you drooling yet? :-)

Are you drooling yet? 🙂

Voila! The finished product:

Something I call "Oreo Brownie Evilness"

Something I call “Oreo Brownie Evilness”

It really is as easy as it looks. You “ice” peanut butter onto an Oreo; drop it into a cupcake liner (with or without muffin pan, if you get tin foil liners); repeat with a second Oreo; then pour mixed brownie batter on it just up to the top cookie. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. They’re delish when warm but just as good later, and might be good with ice cream, too, if I weren’t afraid I’d go into a sugar coma. Just FYI, any brownie mix will do the job. I used Betty Crocker because she’s an old friend of mine. That and a full package of Oreos made 24 OBE’s, of which there are only 10 left (with 3 set aside for a friend).

Oreo Brownie Evilness
Recipe Type: Vintage
Cuisine: Dessert
Author: Carla Kempert | Chicklets in the Kitchen
Prep time: 20 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 40 mins
Serves: 24
Ingredients
  • 24 Oreos
  • Peanut Butter (enough to “ice” top of each Oreo)
  • 1 Brownie Mix, batter prepared according to package directions
  • 2 – 12 cup muffin tins with muffin liners
  • or
  • 24 foil muffin liners (will stand up without tin)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Smear top of each Oreo with peanut butter and drop into a muffin liner.
  3. Prepare your favorite brownie mix.
  4. Spoon enough brownie batter over Oreos just to cover tops.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes.

 

Of course, this leads to the consideration of variations. I think next time, I’m going to try these as ‘Smores, with a Nilla wafer and a large marshmallow. Maybe it’ll end up a mess but it all tastes the same as you’re wolfing it down. 🙂

In all the excitement, we forgot to put a candle in one and sing Happy Birthday, but that’s okay. I had a really great day anyway, and another on Monday when I found out I made the Broad Street Run registration lottery!  No more OBE’s for me for a while. I have to drop a few pounds so I don’t have to be rolled across the finish line. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Oreo Brownie Evilness

    • Thanks, Mary! Remind me to send you my gluten-free pizza dough recipe. It calls for 3 different flours, none of which I’ve seen on Giant store shelves, but I can’t say I’ve looked before, either, so maybe I missed it.

  1. Happy birthday, Carla! I hope you’re having a fantabulous day!

    Oh! My! Goodness!!! Those look and sound unbelievably decadent. My oldest son and his girlfriend are always making over-the-top desserts like this. I’m sending this to them. 😉

  2. Wow. Those look fantastic. And I think my roommate made some the other day. I came home from work and the house smelled like brownies … a recipe with a photo that looked a lot like yours was on the counter.

    Thank goodness I haven’t been invited to try one. I’m sure it’d be a diet breaker!

  3. Pingback: Greek goodness | Chicklets in the Kitchen

  4. Just FYI, I tried a variation on them because my son asked me to try them without the peanut butter. I used a single Double Stuff Oreo, no peanut butter, and brownie mix. O.M.G. But, you know, in the interest of science, I should probably have one more just to be sure. (They were supposed to be for Easter. They’ll be lucky if there are any left after the Walking Dead marathon is over.)

Leave a Reply

