Note to Self

Dear Self:  If you’re planning on making eggplant parmesan, and have been drooling over the thought of eggplant parmesan since you left the grocery store, it would probably be a good idea to pick up CHEESE at said grocery store in case you don’t have any at home, like you thought you did.

Naked Eggplant!

Naked Eggplant!

Love, Me.

Note to Self Addendum:  It might also be a good idea to wait until you have the cheese to eat it.

photo(8)

Eaten Naked Eggplant!

I don’t make eggplant paremsan any particular way.  I cut up the eggplant, put it in a baking dish, spray it with olive oil cooking spray and shove it in a 350 degree oven.  I stir it occasionally and let it cook until it gets all mushy, about half an hour.  Then I add tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese and put it back into the oven until everything is hot and melty.  Serve and eat!

I like my eggplant in bite sized pieces so I don’t have to cut it when it’s served.  Delicious!  Sometimes I add onions or mushrooms (or both!), but I saute them first.

What’s your favorite way to eat eggplant?

6 thoughts on “Note to Self

    • The secret is to cook the eggplant until you can cut it with a fork. The skin, too. The eggplant takes on the flavor of whatever you’re cooking, so top it off with your favorite sauce and you’re good to go.

  1. I like eggplant parmesan and have made it the way you do. I prefer breading the eggplant slices first and frying them before topping with sauce, cheese, and baking, but hate the hassle. 🙂

    • Sometimes I sprinkle breadcrumbs over the eggplant after dumping the sauce on it. I swear, breadcrumbs, tomato sauce, and cheese is tasty too, even without the eggplant!

      I hate the hassle of the breading. So I don’t do it. I find I don’t miss it.

  2. I think I’ve had eggplant twice in my life. Since it’s usually breaded, it’s hard for me to find gluten-free style. *sigh* But I loved your notes to self! 🙂

Leave a Reply

