An Old Favorite–Gluten-Free Style

I love chocolate chip cookies. Really love them. So much so, that I’ve spent the past three years perfecting the recipe that Nestle Toll House prints on the back of every bag of semi-sweet morsels.  By adding one ingredient and substituting two others, I have cookies guaranteed to make my children grin when they come home from school.chocolate chip cookies

It’s super easy. Get any Toll House bag and substitute 1/4 cup All Purpose Flour and 2 cups Garbanzo Bean Flour then add 1 tsp of Xanthan Gum, and you’ve got gluten-free cookies that most folks can’t tell are gluten-free. 🙂 See, I told you it was easy!

So why am I cheating this week and not putting up a whole recipe? To get you ready for next week! Next week, we have two very special chicks stopping by. Ms. Kimberly Kincaid, author of LOVE ON THE LINE, will visit with Arlene on Thursday! And Ms. Lena Diaz, author of THE MARSHAL’S WITNESS, SIMON SAYS DIE, and HE KILLS ME, HE KILLS ME NOT will visit with me on Friday.

Make sure to stop by and comment both days. I’ll do a drawing over the weekend and one lucky commenter will win an autographed copy of Lena’s latest release, THE MARSHAL’S WITNESS!

So stop by next week as they share a bit about their current releases and maybe even a recipe or two. Because nothing says love like great food and a great book! 🙂

4 thoughts on “An Old Favorite–Gluten-Free Style

  1. Hahahahaha. No, it shouldn’t. The garbanzo bean flour absorbs the stronger flavors of whatever it’s mixed with in the recipe. Once baked! But if you’re thinking of gnawing on raw cookie dough, I wouldn’t. Then all you’ll get is a mouthful of sugar and chickpeas. 🙂

    Maybe I’ll bring some cookies down next weekend for you to sample so you can taste the gluten-free goodness for yourself! 😉

  2. Your cookies look fabo! I’m sure they taste wonderful, too. I’m so glad you’ve learned how to make all your favorites gluten-free. Life would be so boring if you couldn’t please your palate anymore. 🙂

    • Thanks Lis. Now I just need to expand a bit more past cookies. Hmmm…maybe I’ll do a brownie recipe next week? I haven’t done that on the blog yet. 😉

Leave a Reply

