Guest Chicklet–Lena Diaz with Easy Peasy Deviled Eggs

Lena Diaz

2010 Golden Heart Finalist and Romantic Suspense Author, Lena Diaz

Happy Friday Chicklets! Yesterday, Arlene hosted the fabulous Kimberly Kincaid. Today, I am super-excited to invite back my friend and brilliant romantic suspense author, Lena Diaz! Lena’s first Harlequin Intrigue book, THE MARSHAL’S WITNESS came out in February and that book is getting some great reviews! So without further ado (and rambling from me), I give you Ms. Diaz.

 

Mary, thank you so much for hosting me on Chicklets in the Kitchen!  This is my second visit and I’m just as nervous this time as the first time. Why? Because I’m a lousy cook and I have such a hard time coming up with recipes.

I thought about trying to come up with some kind of rabbit stew recipe or with instructions for how to roast a rabbit. My hero and heroine in my latest release, THE MARSHAL’S WITNESS, have to cook a rabbit over a fire to survive in the mountains. But since I’ve never cooked a rabbit (and would certainly never eat one!), I decided to go with something safer.

Deviled Eggs.

Yes, I know, not all that exciting and not all that complicated. And what’s even worse, I can’t give you exact measurements for the ingredients! But what I can do is share my tips that make my deviled eggs easy, and the filling extra creamy.

To make deviled eggs, I boil eggs (duh), peel them (again, no brainer, right?), cut them in half, scoop out the yolk into a bowl. Then I mash up the yolk, salt to taste, and add mayonnaise (always use Kraft Mayo!). Then, I put the yolk-mayo mixture back into the halved cooked egg-whites and I’m done. Chill in the fridge. When ready to serve, sprinkle paprika on top.

Easy peasy. Anyone can do it. And yet, my family always raves about my deviled eggs. Why? It took me a long time to figure out ‘why’ everyone loves my eggs more than any others they’ve ever tried (seriously!). But here is what I’ve decided makes the difference.

A really creamy filling.

Don’t you just hate it when deviled eggs are gritty or lumpy?

Here’s how I make mine smooth and creamy. After I scoop all the hard-boiled egg yolk into a bowl, I use a fork to smash the yolk up as fine as I can make it. Then I mix in the mayo and a little salt (to taste) until it has a consistency of pudding. At this point, it’s still a bit gritty though. So I scoop the entire mixture into a gallon-sized Ziploc (or any brand really) baggie.

And then I start kneading the baggie just as if it were dough!

I spend a good 15 to 20 minutes squishing the baggie until it’s super creamy like frosting.

That’s the secret! It makes all the difference.

To fill the egg white halves from the baggie, just cut the corner of the baggie and squeeze the bag, applying it to the egg halves like squeezing icing onto a cake.

Want another secret that will make it even easier? To make peeling the eggs SUPER fast and easy, crack the shells all over before trying to peel them. I take my boiled eggs off the stove, sit the entire pot of eggs in my sink. Then I pour out the hot water and run cold water over them. I repeat that about three or four times until the water in the pot is cool.

Cover-TMW

“This is a fabulous WitSec romantic suspense with a great late twist that will stun readers because the clues are there.”–Harriet Klausner, The Mystery Gazette

Then I pick up each egg and crack it against the side of the pot as if I were trying to crack open an egg to fry it. I turn it, crack it, turn it, crack it, until the entire shell has cracks all over it. Then I put the egg back into the water. I repeat this until every egg has had its shell all cracked up.

It sounds hard, but it’s really easy and fast once you get the hang of it. Once you have done it, you can pick up any of the eggs and peel them in just a few seconds. The entire shell practically falls off (as long as you cracked them well and the water is cool or cold).

If you like more ingredients in your deviled eggs, like onions or pickles, feel free to add them. But I like mine plain, and creamy.

Enjoy!

Thank you, Lena for stopping by and sharing your recipe. Wow, that is a really easy recipe! I have always had trouble peeling the eggs, so I’m going to try your trick. I’m not a big mayo fan, so I usually add mustard in with my yolk mixture. Tell us chicklets fans, how do you like your eggs?
Remember! On Monday, one lucky commenter will be drawn at random to win an autographed copy of Lena’s latest book, THE MARSHAL’S WITNESS. So let’s hear from you! 🙂
20 thoughts on “Guest Chicklet–Lena Diaz with Easy Peasy Deviled Eggs

  1. Hi, Lena! Love your secret trick to getting creamy filling, but I have to say that, given my choice, I’ll always go for Miracle Whip over mayo. I had to switch to mayo while I was doing the low-carb diet, but I grew up eating MW and still prefer it.

    I’ve started boiling my eggs with a little salt in the water. That seems to help them peel more easily.

    • Hi Arlene! Good to see you here. I’ll have to try adding salt to the water next time. Always happy to have a new tip. Anything to make cooking easier! Funny that you prefer Miracle Whip. I absolutely despise it! I guess it all depends on what you grow up used to.

      • I grew up with Miracle Whip, but discovered a love for real mayo in early adulthood. I like to switch back and forth and it all depends on where I’m putting it. 😉

  2. How lucky for me to see this today! I am making deviled eggs for the first time ever. My mom makes them for all of our get togethers but don’t think she wants to come to work with me and make them. Thanks for the tips on making my first batch a great one. And the trick to peeling them is going to come in helpful. My boiled eggs always look like I was extremely mad when I peeled them. LOL

    • Hi Julie! It’s fate, me posting about deviled eggs when you’re making them. And, yeah, I totally get what you’re saying about peeling the eggs. Hopefully my tip will help. Oh, one other thing I’ve noticed is that eggs don’t peel as well if boiled in a stainless steel pot. Have no idea why. I break out the cheap non-stick coated pot when I boil eggs. Good luck today! I’m sure you’ll do great!

  3. I cannot wait to try the peeling trick Lena!!!! I do almost the same thing as you with the filling, the plastic bag helps in even (and pretty) filling of the egg halves too! Thanks for the opportunity to win your book!!

    • Hi Carla! Thanks for stopping by and good luck in the drawing. When I cut my eggs in half, I usually use a special ‘egg cutter’ too, that I bought from Pampered Chef. It has ridges on it. I think it’s just really for cutting veggies, but it leaves pretty ridges (like a potato chip) on the eggs.

  4. I absolutely love the idea of kneading the yolk filling in a bag AND then using it to apply the filling! Never thought of that! And if you want to get super snazzy (and your hands a little dirty), you can squeeze an icing tip on there and make some cute pattern. 🙂

    • Rebekah, I love the idea of using an icing tip to make a pattern. I may have to buy some icing tips just for that purpose! My favorite part about the plastic baggie is the clean-up … just toss it in the trash! I used an actual pastry contraption once and the clean-up was a nightmare. My laziness is what inspires my short cuts! Thanks for stopping by. Good luck in the drawing. I hope you’ll spread the word about my awesome recipe today (grin)!

  5. I like putting stone ground mustard in with the mayo – MY secret that’s not so secret anymore! I don’t like relish in my deviled eggs, yuck. I like garlic, too. Oh, and to make them pretty, I sprinkle a HINT of paprika over them.

    BUT I’ve never been able to make them creamy… and now I can. Thanks, Lena!

  6. Wow. Those are some excellent tips! I love deviled eggs because they are basically carb free and I never feel guilty eating them. But they are lots of trouble, so I am very impressed you make them. I love the bag kneading and corner cut tip!

    Lena, a friend showed me another trick for easy peeling of eggs. First you smash the shell all over on the counter. Then you roll the egg in your palm like you are warming it to hatch a chick 🙂 and the shell comes off like magic!
    PS The Marshal’s Witness rocks!

  7. Wow, Lena is my sister and I never knew why her deviled eggs were the best! Now I know it is the kneading it like dough part. They are amazing and the whole batch always disappears at our family gatherings in lighting speed. And, I LOVED the Marshall’s Witness, my favorite books so far. So proud of you Lena!

  8. Thanks for the tips and the chance to win the book. I also have learned to use the baggie and it allows the kids a great chance to help make one of dad’s favorite foods.

  9. Lena! You’re a doll! I struggle every time to get all the lumps out and I’m never successful. I can’t wait to do it your way. 🙂 I never measure anything either and the only thing I add is 1 scant capful of vinegar to the yolk mixture. It gives it just a bit of a kick.

    Thank you so much for coming back and I hope you will again. You don’t have to cook anything, just bring your darling self and your awesome stories! 😀

      • I’m definitely a spicy-hot wimp, too. The kick is just a tad bit of sour. But you know, the older I get, the less I want that. Next time I’m straight-up mayo, hold the vinegar. 😉

        Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

