Gluten-Free Girl and Eggs Benedict

I love Eggs Benedict. I mean I looovvvee them. Seriously. But since I went gluten-free, it’s been off my menu whenever dining out. At least, until two friends took me to brunch at the Ritz-Carlton on Amelia Island.

Eggs Benedict at Ritz Carlton Amelia IslandLately, I’ve become conditioned to not even asking about gluten-free options for any food where bread is a requirement. While I don’t mind a bread-less sandwich or burger, when I order Eggs Benedict, I want the full effect. And that definitely includes the muffin or bread substance.

But I digress. 🙂 So my friends and I were sitting on the patio at the Ritz, staring at the ocean and reviewing the menu. When the waiter heard I was gluten-free, he immediately offered a gluten-free option for my dream breakfast. And can we say, OMGosh it was amazing. So rich, creamy and delicious!

So if you’re on Amelia Island, and would like to try the fabulous breakfast, hop on over to the Ritz. The brunch prices aren’t outrageous. Plus, the meal is absolutely worth every penny!

And thanks to my fabulous writing buddies…thank you for suggesting the trip. Next time, lunch is on me. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl and Eggs Benedict

    • It was gluten-free bread that was toasted. The bowl had cheese grits. I’d never had them before but they were yummy. (The waiter assured me they were gluten-free too!) 🙂

      • I’m pretty sure that’s the first time I’ve ever had grits period. I’ve been tempted to taste them in the past, but always caved and went with hash browns instead.

        I’m glad I didn’t cave this time. They were yummy! 😀

  1. How funny is this? I’d always wanted to try Eggs Benedict, but never had. So I found a recipe for the sauce and whipped some up. It would’ve been amazing had the recipe not called for so much salt. I ate it because I loved the tastes I was picking up in the background, but it took lots of water to wash the salt away. Next time, I think I’ll try it using one of those packet mixes.

    And grits! I’ve been eating them since I was a baby. My preferred way is plain grits with a lot of butter and a little sugar. 🙂

Leave a Reply

