Guest Chicklet–Amber Lin

This week, we have guest chicklet, Amber Lin, in our kitchen! She’s a romance author who writes sexy, gritty erotic stories for Loose ID. Her latest novel SELLING OUT came out this month. Welcome Amber!AmberLinAuthorPic

 

Hi, and thanks Mary and the rest of the Chicklets for having me in the Kitchen today!

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Amber Lin, author of Giving It Up, which RT Book Reviews gave 4.5 stars and called “at once, scary and sexy in all the best ways.”

I’m here to share my new release, Selling Out, featuring a high class call girl and a by-the-book detective with the Chicago Police Department.

In my debut novel, Giving It Up, the heroine was a baker (both her profession and her passion) and the hero owned a restaurant and was a hobbyist chef. So there was a lot of opportunity to talk about food. But with my latest release Selling Out, well, the hero is a detective and the heroine is a prostitute. Neither of them are really whizzes in the kitchen.

In that regard, they’re closer to me than my previous heroine/heroes were. I occasionally indulge in longer, elaborate meals but for the most part I’m a working mother with a penchant for forgetting she left something in the oven, so I really need things quick and easy!

In the spirit of quick and easy—and yummy and moderately healthy, I want to share my recipe for enchiladas with you guys. Oh, and it’s meatless because we’re vegetarians in the Lin household.

QUICK & EASY ENCHILADAS

Ingredients:
Onions
Green Peppers
Refried Beans (I think Amy’s Vegetarian Refried Beans have the best flavor. I can eat them out of the can, that’s how good they are)
Rice (Either a mix for Spanish rice or you can make your own spiced rice with plain rice, tomatoes, onions, peas, cumin and chili powder)
Shredded cheese
Tortillas (12 count)
Enchilada sauce  (You can purchase a little packet mix or find a recipe online. I like to cheat and use half a jar of tomato sauce, water, and a whole lot of chili powder. Does the trick.)  🙂

Directions:

  1. Slice the onions and green peppers and saute in olive oil until softened
  2. Mix refried beans and rice
  3. Toast each tortilla on a hot griddle until lightly browned (ideally they puff up in process)
  4. Onto the tortilla, put the beans/rice mix, some onions/peppers, some cheese and roll up. Place seam-down in a greased casserole dish. Repeat with all tortillas.
  5. Pour enchilada sauce over the top

I had this at a get together for my husband’s family and was genuinely shocked at how good it tasted and how simple it was to put together.  (They fed a lot of people that way!) So of course I stole the idea and regularly make it for my family. 🙂

My dad, who is a very picky eater, was continually impressed with me… until I showed him how to make it. “It’s so easy,” he said.

Selling OutSo there you have it! And thanks for having me here, folks.

Want to know more about the book RT Book Reviews described as, “truly extraordinary?” Then check out Amber Lin’s book, SELLING OUT.
BIO:
Amber Lin married her high school sweetheart, birthed a kid who’s smarter than she is, and spends her nights writing down her dirty thoughts. In other words, life is good. Come say hi on twitter, through goodreads, or by email.

 

3 thoughts on “Guest Chicklet–Amber Lin

  1. Hi, Amber! So sorry I’m late to the party. Congratulations on your latest release! It sounds very intriguing! 🙂

    I love enchiladas, but I’ve never had them vegetarian. Sounds great and I’m sure my family will love them. All it really takes is a ton of cheese to make my guys happy. 😉

Leave a Reply

