Oy.

Really, that’s all I have to say.  Oy.  My kitchen is a mess right now, since we just got back from seeing my MIL for her birthday.  I’ve got groceries all over the table, and still in bags on the floor, and jutting out of the .

I’ve been remiss in so many things lately, and posting is one of them.  Planning dinners is another, and I think I’ve had a brilliant idea.

On a 3×5 card, I write out the name of a dish in my repertoire.  Then I randomly pick five of them for the week, and one for the crock pot (which is a necessity for Tuesdays).  I make those dishes for the week (in any order I want) and put them in the back of the pile.  Next week, I do it again, and keep doing it until all the cards have been used once.

I’ll probably also put in cards to try a new recipe or make the kids pick.

I’m rather proud of this idea.  What you do all think?

 

9 thoughts on “Oy.

  1. I think that’s a great idea. I need to do that for Mondays…well, most Mondays. Today is the exception since we have yet ANOTHER snow day.

    I swear if they predict snow for my birthday, I’m coming to FL and staying with you for the day. 🙂

    • OH, YOU DO NOT. I read your other blog, Missy. Don’t try pulling that on me. In fact, it’s your fault that I stared at the containers of Chobani pineapple yogurt for ten minutes the last time I was at the grocery store. The only thing that stopped me from buying it is that I didn’t have the rest of the ingredients for your smoothie AND I was leaving town the next day.

      But I’m back now, so next time…

      • Buy extra index cards because I have idea to add to yours. Make them up for side dishes and desserts, too. Or, you could just add the traditional side dish and dessert to the back of the main entree card so you don’t forget anything you need to make a complete meal. 😉

Leave a Reply

