Let’s talk about snacks

Anyone else have the refrain of a Salt N Pepa song echoing through their head now?

No? Just me? Okay, then. Let’s get down to business.

I’ve come to realize I’m a grazer. I eat a little something here, something else there. I’ve been snacking on a banana with peanut butter first thing when I wake up, then hitting the pavement for a walk. After my walk, Β which lasts anywhere from 15 to 45 minutes, I head back to the kitchen for a little something else to eat. (That’s when a smoothie usually enters the picture.)

I drink that while washing last night’s dishes and prepping that afternoon/evening’s eats. I pack everything up so I can get to Starbucks for pre-work writing time.

Among my go-to snacks:

  • Cut-up veggies and hummus, sometimes with Pretzel Crisps, sometimes not
  • Veggies and Trader Joe’s less-guilt spinach/kale/yogurt dip. This stuff was a find on my last trip, and I was sad to see the last of it Wednesday.
TJ's dip on toast

Dip on a Sandwich Thin, eaten post-walk

TJ's to-die-for dip

This dip will be missed

I envy folks who have a Trader Joe’s in their city β€” the closest one for me is in Prescott. It works out okay, because my RWA chapter meets in Prescott, so I visit TJ’s on meeting day.

Now back to my list:

  • Nuts of some kind. I recently discovered Emerald brand Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter nuts that are To. Die. For. (And only 4 WW Points per serving.) The Chili-Lime Cashews (5 Points) and Wasabi Wow Mix (4 Points) from Trader Joe’s are also faves.
  • Snack bars … granola, Nutri-Grain fruit bars, Fiber One bars have all made my list at one time or another. A few weeks ago, I made my first batch of these Five-Minute No-Bake Granola Bars. Delicious!
  • Yogurt. As I’ve mentioned, Greek varieties are my favorite.
  • Apple slices (preferably with nut butter, but if they’re Honeycrisp, I’ll eat them plain)
  • Cottage cheese
  • Popcorn

All solid choices, I suppose. Yet I feel like I’m stuck in a rut. I need to spice up my snack repertoire β€” and fast. Boredom never bodes well for me sticking to my diet.

That’s where y’all come in: I need your help. What are some of your healthier go-to snacks?

Spill it in the comments below. I’m always up for new ideas.

 

8 thoughts on “Let’s talk about snacks

  1. Pingback: Random thoughts on a Thursday | Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

  2. And thank you for that ear worm, Arlene. I’ll be humming that song all day. Humming mind you, because Frickas and Frackus are home on spring break. πŸ™‚

    • You’re welcome. πŸ˜‰

      The song I’ve been humming all day β€” surprisingly not Salt N Pepa β€” is “Everybody Dies Famous in a Small Town” by Miranda Lambert.

  3. Some go-to snacks in my house:
    Hard boiled eggs
    cheese sticks
    Sometimes I cook egg beaters and turkey sausage crumbles mixed together in a muffin tin, then bag them for on-the-go snacking. Occassionally I add cheese!

    Other snacks aren’t quite as healthy. If I think of any others, I’ll let you know.

  4. I adore Honeycrisps! The best apples I’ve ever eaten – so sweet and crunchy. And the Athenos Garden Vegetable hummus…yum! I can eat that stuff with a spoon!

    Cut up cantaloupe, blueberries, celery sticks with neufchatel cheese, whole avocados just cut in half and eaten with a spoon right out of the skin, canned tuna packed in spring water eaten out of the can with a fork (not too often, though), plums, and nectarines. If I need a little more stick to the ribs, I eat a bowl of hot oatmeal with a touch of brown sugar/milk or grits with a pat of butter and a couple of packets of Splenda. I’ve been trying to avoid the fake sugars, though. V8 juice is one of my absolute favorites, and beef jerky.

    Buddig dried beef – one whole package is a single serving with only 5 grams of fat and 90 calories. You can eat it as is or make up a plate of dill and/or sweet pickle roll ups. Take one piece of dried beef and lay flat, spread a little neufchatel cheese down the center, lay on a thin pickle wedge and roll up. My family loves them!

    • Great ideas. I’ll have to remember the beef/cheese/pickle combo. It’s something I’d have for lunch while doing Atkins (sometimes with ham or turkey), but I tend to forget about it when I’m not.

  5. Pingback: Something old, something new | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

