Gluten-Free Girl and Happy Wednesday Birthday!

I have nothing to report this week, Chicklets. It’s my birthday and I was so busy baking my birthday cake yesterday–a gluten-free angel food concoction–that I completely forgot to take pictures or anything.

Since the cake is for tonight and I haven’t sampled it yet, I don’t want to post the recipe just yet. (I don’t want to give you a recipe for a disaster cake, if it doesn’t turn out.) πŸ™‚

So instead, I’ll leave with a question…what’s your dream dinner (including dessert, of course) for your birthday?

7 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl and Happy Wednesday Birthday!

  1. Happy birthday to you, Mary Behre! I hope your day is filled with love and laughter!

    My dream dinner would be a porterhouse steak, baked potato with tons of butter and sour cream, a nice side salad with a creamy raspberry vinaigrette, and a slice of New York cheese cake, sitting at a giant round table with all of my family and friends!

  2. Yum yum yum. I actually love a good t-bone. I used to think I hated steak, but it turns out, I hated the way my Mom cooked it. Not her fault, really, because my Dad insisted it be well well well done. I like mine medium rare.

    For a dream dinner, I’d have to go with crab. With butter. And maybe with a carbonara pasta dish on the side along with a Caesar salad, but not drowning in dressing.

    And as long as my dessert included chocolate, I’d be good. Happy birthday, Mary!

    • Thanks for the birthday wish, Abigail.

      Ooh, I love a good crab dinner but never with butter. I’m from Baltimore originally, so I grew up on summers where picnics included steamed crabs in Old Bay Seasoning. πŸ™‚ Remind some time to tell you what happened, when someone tried to “expand” my seafood palate with freshly steamed lobster. *chuckles*

      And I’m with you about the steak. I grew up eating it as little better than charcoal and didn’t care for it. It took years before my husband convinced me to try it his way. He goes for a lot more rare than I do, but I do like it a little pink. Arteries be darned! πŸ˜€

  3. I hope your birthday was a great one β€” and that the cake turned out great. I’m curious to see what, exactly, goes into a gluten-free angel food cake.

    As for my ideal birthday dinner, it’s hard to choose just one. It’d probably be a nice cheesy, meaty lasagna with a Caesar salad (and croutons) or a big, tender steak with a side of fries smothered in cheese and bacon (with a side of ranch dressing for dipping), and a salad with blue cheese dressing and croutons. Dessert would be either a piece of key lime pie or a slice of cake (pretty much any flavor) with buttercream icing.

    Just as long as I don’t have to cook it β€” and I don’t gain an ounce after eating it!

    • Thanks for the birthday wish, Arlene.

      Wow, your dream birthday dinner is pretty awesome. My husband wooed me with a home-made Caesar salad that was simply to die for…or in my case, marry for. πŸ˜‰

      We were so busy yesterday, I didn’t even get a bite of angel food cake. My children intend rectify that error after school today. I’ll let y’all know how it turned out. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

