Recovery

I think I’ve posted before that I’m a runner. The events in Boston yesterday still have me off-balance. I wasn’t there but I’ve been to Boston (and loved it), and a co-worker runs the Boston Marathon every year, and I had a friend there as a spectator. Everyone’s checked in, and Tom finished in 3:15, thank God. (Though hey, the dude finished 26.2 miles in just 25 minutes more than I finished 13.1. Now I feel like a complete slacker.)

People in the running community are wearing their race shirts today to show solidarity and support for the runners, first responders, spectators and family members who were affected. I’m wearing my Color Run shirt. When my husband moved out, I’d only just begun running, but after my first 5k I felt like I’d found a place where I belonged. There’s something about the sound of sneakers hitting pavement that makes me feel like I’m home.

Hearing the news of yesterday–doing 70 mph on the NJ Turnpike, on my way back from visiting my family in New York–this attack touched me personally because runners are my family too. I won’t even tell you how many laws I broke, trying to get home to get more information. (I could barely get any AM radio reception.)

If you want a really great first-hand account of yesterday, I read this blog this morning. I also saw that runners are wearing this race bib today when they go out:

runners united

I’m adding it to my bib banner, which hangs proudly in my room by the window. Every morning I open my eyes and smile, knowing, “I did that. I belong somewhere. I run.”

Today my heart is in Boston. When I started running, my goal was the Broad Street Run, which I’ll be doing in 19 days (assuming it’s still on; so far yes, but with tightened security). I never believed I could run a marathon. Now I want to try, for those who can’t run ever again.

14 thoughts on “Recovery

  1. A very good friend of mine was posting status updates on facebook as her brother, Bill, ran in the marathon yesterday. I was so excited to hear he’d crossed the finish line in 2:42:16. I had no idea of what happened after that, I was busy doing other things away from the computer and wasn’t listening to or watching the news. Not until after 5p.m. when my husband got home. I found out Bill had left the race 40 minutes after the bombs. My heart is broken for all of those innocent people. I pray nothing like this ever happens to you, Carla, or anyone else running a race. It’s hard to wrap my mind around how evil some people are in this world.

    • It’s amazing, the things that cross people’s minds, isn’t it? On the one hand we have whoever did this, and on the other we have people like Einstein and Picasso and Salk. I’ll never understand what makes people turn for the Dark Side or whatever it is.

      I read something on Facebook about how running events like this are always a fun sport; no one boos anyone, and anybody is welcome to join in. Seriously, absolutely anyone. The only equipment needed is a good pair of shoes and the will to try.

      • I don’t know what the answer is, other than spectators now vigilantly watching everyone else in the crowd for suspicious behavior. Like someone setting a backpack down and walking away from it. *heavysigh*

  2. Wow, Carla. Well-said.

    I am not a runner, but I WANT to be. I’m still at the “wog” stage — and that’s only when I push myself. Usually, I just walk.

    Tuesday, I did run … kind of. With gusts of 60 mph, it was too windy to walk outside, so I walked on the treadmill for 26.2 minutes and logged 1.67 miles. Seven of those minutes (not all at once) were at a slow — very slow — run.

    I ran because I could, and because it made me feel like a part of the healthy living blog community … and because, in doing so, I felt just a little less helpless.

    This link, which I found on Twitter, allows you to log your miles you #runforboston, as well as share why you’re running and where you’re from: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1X5hW3F2eSZJ2bJLXIdXjwfn2yAgBGnRlXgKgozWC_ls/viewform

    The woman keeping the database is Becca Obergefell (@OberBecca). Earlier tonight, she tweeted: A whirlwind 24 hours – 1500 runners, 6053 miles #runforboston http://beccaobergefell.com/move/runforboston/ … Amazing community, thank you.

    • VERY cool link, Arlene! Thanks for posting it! I joined the “Run 26.2 for Boston” event on Facebook, too, which takes place over the next month. I’ve been trying to boost my weekly miles total, and the 10 miles of Broad Street are going to count in that. 😉

      Have you tried a Couch-t0-5K plan? I know quite a few people doing them successfully. I can get more info on it if you’re interested.

      I was just thinking this morning how, two years ago, when I first got out of bed, so many of my joints would creak and groan. Depending on the season, I need to use the railing to walk to the bathroom. (Winter was the worst.) Now? Nothing. I roll out of bed, grab my towel, and go head for the showers to get the day started. If you’d told me at 30 that I’d feel physically (and maybe even emotionally) better at 46, I’d have laughed cookie crumbs in your face, but here I am.

      • I forgot to add that as long as Broad Street is still on, runners are invited to show solidarity with Boston by running in red socks. (Get it? Red Sox?) I *so* love this idea and I’m already shopping for a good pair of red running socks, preferably with a Boston “B” on it. I have a feeling when the race starts and I see a sea of red socks ahead of me, I’m possibly going to shed a few tears. That’s just how I roll. 😉

        That, and the fact that I’m accomplishing a goal just by being there. I could have pneumonia that day and I swear on my New Balances, I’ll still show up.

  3. One of my favorite memories growing up was handing out orange slices and cups of water to runners when they went by my house. Yes, my street of residence was part of the Boston Marathon route.

    And that’s what I’m going to remember.

    Go Carla!

    • THAT is so cool! 🙂

      After I ran the Runner’s World Half Marathon last October, I wanted to send a thank-you note to the city of Bethlehem for hosting us and lending us the use of their streets for all those hours. It was awesome that they stood on their lawns, cheering us on (even though I was an hour from the end of the pack). The best of the best were already in their cars and heading home, but the residents were still out there, rooting us on. If not for them, I’m not sure I would’ve kept going.

      So for all the runners who took your water and orange slices, AG, I say thank you! 🙂

      Before Monday, I thought a full marathon was outside my range of possibilities. Since then I’m seeing a lot of reminders that we need to do the very thing that scares us most. Now I’m thinking a full marathon is something I need to try. Not this year–I’m not ready–but yeah, I have to do it.

      • Last August, I considered signing up for a half marathon in January, knowing full well I’d be walking most of it, but chickened out. Maybe I should plan on it for 2014 — the Phoenix Rock N Roll Marathon.

        I got through Week 6 or 7 of the C25K (past the 20-minute straight run), then Nationals happened and I didn’t get back to it. I have the app on my phone, though. Perhaps I should start up again.

        Abigail, that is so cool.

      • I’m doing the philly Rock n Roll Half in September and I’ve heard it’s a blast! I’ll let you know how it goes.

        Do you have any races scheduled, Arlene? Nothing like a little motivation to get you out the door. Once you plunk down your registration money, consider yourself committed. 😉 There are also lots of great races for charity, and what could be better than helping someone else while you’re doing something good for yourself?

      • There’s a Color Vibe run in my back yard May 4, but I haven’t had the money to sign up. I’ll do the Sedona Turkey Trot again this Thanksgiving, and probably the Climb to Conquer Cancer in August. (That’s 7 miles up Snowbowl Road, almost all of it uphill … but only the crazy folks run. It’s mainly an event for walkers.)

        You’re right: I should look for something else. Having an event to train for would make me get out the door more often.

      • There’s a link on Facebook for people who want to run 26.2 for Boston. You can do it over a month, but maybe it’s a start? There’s no cost associated with it; it’s a virtual marathon, and you add up your miles over the course of a month. I’m using a spreadsheet to keep track of my daily miles (I used to run every other day but now it’s a daily thing) so I know when I’ve hit my 26.2. I’ll send it to you…if I can figure out how. 😉

  4. A week later, one suspect is dead and the other is charged. Broad Street is in 12 days and my red socks are being delivered this week. I was at the gym last night and thinking about if I should ask a friend to come to the race with me, to cheer me on at the end. Immediately I thought, “No!” I don’t want anyone standing on the sidelines, just in case. I’m going to run the race alone–with 40K other people around–and I’m going to finish alone, and I’m fine with that. Not because I’m scared but…okay, maybe a little. But I don’t need someone at the finish line to take my picture. I’ll have been there, and that’s enough.

    And I promise, I *will* finish. Pics to follow on 5/7! 🙂

Leave a Reply

