Brilliant or bonkers? You decide …

You might think I’m crazy, but I’ve started doing … er … strange things with cottage cheese.

No, I’m not taking it on walks like the family pet, or smearing it on my face in place of moisturizer. Even I have limits.

What I have been doing is whipping it — like that Devo song I’m (almost) too young to remember.

Delicious straight from the spoon, too.

Delicious straight from the spoon.

I don’t know what came over me … or maybe I do. On WW’s Simply Filling plan, fat-free cottage cheese is one of those “Power Foods” I told you about the other week. That means I get to eat it without counting Points for it — so I bought a giant tub.

Unfortunately, I forgot I don’t like fat-free cottage cheese nearly as much as its creamier counterparts. There’s a reason I rejoice in eating full-fat cheeses when I’m doing Atkins.

Enter the whipping. I used to do this in my Magic Bullet, but it’s at the Boyfriend’s mother’s house (unless he gave it away). Luckily, I have a little Ninja blender that works even better than the bullet. When whipped, the cheese gets creamy and a even tiny bit fluffy.

In the past, I’ve whipped cottage cheese with strawberries … ranch dressing mix … avocado … not all at the same time, of course. That’d be too crazy even for me, although perhaps avocado and ranch powder would make a tasty mix.

Tuesday, a new inspiration struck: Why not blend some cottage cheese with nut butter?

Into the Ninja went 1/2 cup of fat-free cottage cheese and 1 Tablespoon of nut butter (I used a cashew, almond and peanut butter blend I got at Target a while back). I added a sprinkle of cinnamon on top after I dished it into a bowl.

Jicama makes an excellent vehicle to deliver nut-buttery delicious dip to mouth.

Jicama makes an excellent vehicle to deliver nut-buttery delicious dip to mouth.

In the back of my mind, I thought it might make a good dip for the jicama I cut up Sunday as part of my weekend food prep.

I was right. The jicama provided just the right amount of sweetness.

Call me crazy, but I liked the mix so much that I whipped up another batch after work Wednesday — this time to top a sweet potato I “baked” in the microwave.

Also a delicious decision. The sweet potato heated the cheesy goodness a little and made for an excellent midnight snack.

A new topping for sweet potatoes.

A new topping for sweet potatoes.

I bet it’d be even better on a real baked sweet potato, though. Given a choice, I’d much rather have oven-baked potatoes.

The possibilities are practically endless. You could spread this stuff on graham crackers for a healthier dessert, or on toast for breakfast (if you eat toast, that is). I’m imagining a banana dunked into it — or maybe even whipped right into the cottage cheese and nut butter.

That’d sweeten the mixture right up. Or, if you have a raging sweet tooth, add a teaspoon of brown sugar or a packet of artificial sweetener. (I’m partial to Splenda myself.)

What about a piece of angel food cake topped with this dip and sprinkled with chocolate chips?

Oooh … I’d better stop. I’m making myself hungry again.

What would you use my cottage cheese-PB dip for? Or would you use it at all? My feelings won’t be hurt if you think it’s the grossest thing since  chocolate-covered grasshoppers.

11 thoughts on “Brilliant or bonkers? You decide …

  1. I recently (two days ago) was at a sushi restaurant, and there they had some deep-fried wantons stuffed with cream cheese…. absolutely delicious!

  2. I’m going to trust your tastebuds, Arlene, and give this a try. I need to pick up some nut butter – all I have is the peanut variety. 🙂

    • I don’t think it has to be nut butter — peanut butter would be good, too. I just had the nut butter leftover from my Atkins days (because it had fewer net carbs than PB).

      • Note to self: Put sweet potatoes, jicama, and cottage cheese on grocery list. 😉 And I bet the ranch mix and avocado with cottage cheese would be amazing!

  3. Turns out I may not be so strange after all. After I posted to the blog, I checked Instagram and saw more than one picture of sweet potato topped with either cottage cheese or nut butter. I just was smart enough to combine them!

  4. Love these ideas! I came to like cottage cheese late in life, and so I’m just discovering the potential. 🙂 I never thought about blending it with things…and I think the ideas in the comments about making crab ran goons or fried wontons with it sound very interesting.

    • I go through phases with cottage cheese. Ate it a lot when I was a kid, then wouldn’t touch it for years. Then, in the tail end of my first Atkins days, I was blending it with cinnamon and Splenda as “dessert.” Now, I’m blending it with PB and throwing it on a carb-tastic sweet potato.

  5. Thanks! I may have to try this. I’m philosophically allergic to cottage cheese (how can you tell if it’s spoiled? Not by smell) but this sounds too healthy to pass up.

    I have no problem with microwave-baked sweet potatoes, BTW. I made one like the Wendy’s baked potato, with cheese and broccoli, and could barely tell the difference.

Leave a Reply

