Roasted or Broiled?

Okay, I need some help here. The local produce market advertised asparagus, and recently I saw a TV show where it said asparagus is good for the libido. I was intrigued. If only that nice young man from “The Doctors” would like to share some with me…?  🙂

Anyway, I picked up a bunch of asparagus from the store yesterday and I think what I did with it was considered broiling, though I didn’t use the broiler; I baked it at 350 for about 30 minutes, drizzled with olive oil, garlic salt, minced onion and parmesan cheese. It didn’t turn out half bad, but I think there’s a better way to do it.

I’m looking for suggestions. (Polite ones, please.) How do you cook fresh asparagus?

For the record, I didn’t end up with any “woodies”, as we used to call them; those hard ends of the asparagus that you couldn’t chew through without rodent teeth. For that reason alone, I consider last night’s dinner a win.

14 thoughts on “Roasted or Broiled?

  1. Hi Carla! Asparagus is a natural anti-inflammatory and I eat it a lot. Cut up raw into my salads, grilled or baked. But you may have baked it a tad too long, I normally bake for about 16 minutes. (And I know it’s not appropriate, but I lightly peel all the outside off which can sometimes be a little bitter.) Your seasoning is dead-on.

    I don’t know if you like fish, but I get a piece of frozen cod, throw some baby Portabellas, and sweet bell peppers along with the asparagus into a baking dish…it cooks for 18 minutes and I’m done and ready to eat.

    Good luck. Asparagus is really is a great veggie –especially without “woodies.”
    ~Angi

    • Thank you for the tips, Angi! I’m trying to introduce more fish into my diet. I hated it all my life, until I recently discovered talapia’s not too bad. Perhaps cod might surprise me. 🙂

      • I’m told cod is a little fishy-tasting. (Well, yeah, it’s fish, so…) I know someone who’s not a fish person, who prefers haddock because it doesn’t have as strong a fish flavor. Me, I’ll fine with either. I do try to look at where the tilapia comes from, though. I saw a report on non-sustainable tilapia farming and it’s kind of scary. On the other hand, wild-caught salmon tends to have higher concentrations of mercury than farmed salmon. It’s all about doing the homework, even when it comes to dinner. 😉

      • If you don’t like the “fishy” taste, try adding Rosemary/Garlic seasoning (that is if you like garlic). That helped me a lot. Cod isn’t my favorite, but the vegetables broiling with it…I guess the juices help some how. I don’t even use olive oil in the stone pan (juice from the baking takes care of it).

        I eat fish probably 5 out of 7 days…and rely heavily on seasoning and different veggies to change it up.
        ~Angi

  2. I usually just steam it with butter, salt, and pepper. I think I roasted it once, but it didn’t come out as good as I’d hoped. I’m eager for some pointers, too.

    • Ooh, another good option. I wonder how it steams with rice? Does it change the flavor of the rice, or does it all turn into a big gloppy mess? Knowing me, I’d bet on the latter. 😉 Thanks!!

    • You know, lemon juice is becoming my new butter. I even put it on baked sweet potatoes. It’s lower in fat and salt and it’s citrus; what could be bad? Thanks, Arlene!

  3. I blanch mine. Prepare the asparagus (wash, cut end, etc), then put a pot of water on to boil. When it’s boiling, put in the asparagus and turn off the heat. Leave ’em for about a minute and then take ’em out.

    Though roasting sounds delish! Mmmmm!!!

      • Please tell me there’s a video for that! I wonder if your troupe knew the thing about asparagus and libido? 🙂 I’m telling you, if I ever get to invite Shemar Moore to my place for dinner, you can bet there’ll be asparagus on the table.

  4. I tend to stir-fry mine. A bit of butter and garlic, then stir fry in a nice little rounded pan that I have, flipping it around on occasion. Let it go until I start to see some brown bits on the sides of the asparagus, and I am good to go. Typically I will cut the asparagus down either in half or into thirds so that they are easier to move around in the pan. Heat usually set somewhere around medium-high.

  5. I usually steam it and then just toss it with salt. Occasionally I might sprinkle it with adobo. We are on an asparagus kick in our house!

    I’ve also seen a recipe where you toss it in a little olive oil and a little sugar, then grill it (or use the Foreman Grill or a grill pan). It kind of caramelizes. Not particularly light, though 😉

    OH! And the best way to make sure that you don’t get any of the woody stems is to snap them off by hand rather than cutting them – just hold either end and find where it bends the most easily to snap – it generally snaps off right at the end of the woody bits.

Leave a Reply

