Special Guest Chicklet…the Awesome Robin Covington!

robin_covington_aboutHi Chicklets and Roosters! I’m super excited to introduce this week’s guest chicklet, Robin Covington. She an author who burst onto the scene last year with her hot release of A NIGHT OF SOUTHERN COMFORT. A book RT Reviews gave 4 1/2 stars. She’s got a new book out that looks to be just a sexy and scintillating as the last. Best of all, she’s come to visit with us today and she’s brought along a recipe to share as she talks about her latest book, HIS SOUTHERN TEMPTATION. Take it away, Robin!

RobinConvington_VintageLogo_FINAL-compressed

In my latest release, His Southern Temptation, my heroine makes the comment that the Southern Comfort Diner is the heart of my fictional town of Elliott, VA.  I’ve made no secret of the fact that this town is heavily based on my hometown of Danville, VA and my college town of Staunton, VA.  Writing about this town is a walk down memory lane and remember all the good times I had growing up there and one of those memories is going to the Schoolfield Diner with my Dad on Saturdays.

It was a place where everyone knew my name – it just doesn’t happen in Boston- and I wanted a place like that for my guys to go to and to introduce the women who would change their lives. And I find that I love writing the scenes set in the diner – they are like coming home. I can see the booths and tables, hear the clank of the silverware and dishes in the kitchen, and taste delicious pie that is the signature dish.

For me, this diner is the heart of my town. It is the safe place for characters. It is my selfish preservation of one of the best memories of my childhood and I am so excited that I get to share it with other people.

I’m also excited to share with you one of the recipes from my Granny’s stash – and it is a favorite at the Southern Comfort Diner:

Chicken n’ Dumplin’ Casserole

  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 4 cups cooked chicken
  • DUMPLINGS:
  • 2 cups biscuit/baking mix
  • 2/3 cup 2% milk

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, saute onion and celery in butter until tender. Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer. Stir in the flour, sugar, salt and pepper until blended. Gradually add broth; bring to a boil. Cook and stir for 1 minute or until thickened; reduce heat. Stir in chicken. Pour into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish.
  • For dumplings, in a small bowl, combine baking mix and basil. Stir in milk with a fork until moistened. Drop by tablespoonfuls into 12 mounds over chicken mixture.
  • Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 30 minutes. Cover and bake 10 minutes longer or until a toothpick inserted in a dumpling comes out clean. Yield: 6-8 servings.

Think back to favorite book of yours – is there a place/location in that book where you wish you could visit? I’ll give one lucky commenter a copy of my latest release, His Southern Temptation and Southern Comfort coffee mug.

His Southern Temptation 900pxAbout His Southern Temptation:

Some women are bad. Some women are a bad idea. The best ones are both…

A former Black Ops assassin, “Lucky” Landon has had more near-misses than a man should ever have. Now he’s out of that business and settling into the simple life in his small hometown. So the last thing he ever expected was to end up at gunpoint. Or that the woman holding the gun would be his best friend’s little sister and Lucky’s on-again/off-again lover.

Taylor Elliott is Trouble, and she likes it that way. And seeing Lucky again? Well, he’s been her dirty little secret for the past few years and everyone knows that secrets in a small town are almost impossible to keep. But Taylor has bigger problems on her plate. Like the local mob boss who wants her dead.

And right now the only thing standing between Trouble and disaster is a hottie named Lucky…

Robin’s Bio:

Robin Covington, who NYT Best Selling authors, Robyn Carr and Carly Phillips, said was their new “auto-buy author”, writes sizzling hot contemporary and paranormal romance.

A Night of Southern Comfort, her best-selling debut novel earned 4.5 stars and was touted by RT Book Reviews as bringing a “fresh, modern feel to the genre while still sticking to the things that get our adrenaline pumping — sex and danger”. When she’s not exploring the theme of fooling around and falling in love, she’s collecting tasty man candy, indulging in a little comic book geek love, and stalking Joe Mangianello.

Robin is a member of the Romance Writers of America, the Washington Romance Writers, a faculty member at Romance University, a member of the Waterworld Mermaids, and a contributor to the Happy Ever After blog at USA Today. You can find Robin on her website, Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter (@RobinCovington).

Robin lives in Maryland with her hilarious husband, brilliant children, and ginormous puppy.

31 thoughts on “Special Guest Chicklet…the Awesome Robin Covington!

  1. Wow, Robin. Your book sounds great — and the recipe reminds me of my great-grandma’s chicken and dumplings. The difference is hers included potatoes, carrots and cabbage instead of celery. And she made it in a big pot on the stove. I think I’d like to try it your way.

    Welcome to the Chicklets’ kitchen. It’s good to see you here.

    • Arlene – Thanks so much! I have a recipe for the usual Chicken n’ Dumplings that you make in a pot – this is more of a casserole. I added the garlic to the recipe b/c I think it adds a modern flavor. R

  2. Drop dumplings?! And from a mix???? Heresy in my family! Where’s the Crisco so you can roll them out & cut a lattice to go on top criss-crossed like a pie? Yum!

    Your book sounds awesome & I’m visualizing Jackson, KY where I spent summers growing up.

    Can you talk a little more about how you got published? Agent? Publisher? THE call? Dish details, please?

    • Beth – I alos love to make them that way but I just don’t have time to make them like that anmore – maybe once a year. But, Crisco is the bomb.

      Oh man – you want to know all that? ; )

      I began writing for publication in 2010. I had scribbled for years but when I turned 40 and lost a close friend to breast cancer shortly after, I decided that the bucket list needed to happen now.

      I joined RWA, got a CP and started submitting to contests where I got amazing feedback. Amazingly, I also started winning them and getting requests from editors. A few instances of “almost” toughened me up for this business but I kept looking for more opportunities for short, contemporary romance. I saw an email about Entangled Publishing on a writing loop and decided to submit. Lori Wilde (yes, the Lori Wilde) read my partial and requested the full 24-hours later. One week later, she offered me a contract.

      That was in January 2012.

      I was very lucky to land at a place that was the best fit for me and the stories I want to write. I love to write very sexy love scenes and my heroes cuss like th former Marines they are – I’m in heaven.

      • Yeah, I really DID want to know “all that” & thank you. Bucket lists are big in my life, too.

        It’s not time that keeps me from making dumplings of any kind anymore. It’s those dang men & women in white coats that insist I eat less of everything good.

        Did I miss the link where I can sign up for newsletters for your future releases? I’m still crawling out of the primordial ooze onto the internet.

  3. Hi, Robin! This northern-born girl is always on the lookout for dumpling recipes. Forget what Beth said! Easy is what it’s all about.

    I’ll stalk Joe M. with you. Even if I can never spell his name right.

  4. Yay, Lucky’s story!! I can’t wait to read this! I have to tell you, ANoSC came to my rescue; it was the first romance I read after the breakup of my 8 year marriage, and the perfect thing to get me believing in love again.

    The recipe sounds delish! I’m going to have to see if I can make some veggie adaptations to it. I recall my grandmother making dumplings from just a powdery substance and water. She always had a soup on the stove for when we first arrived–it was a 6 hour drive to get there–and those dumplings will forever make me feel like coming home.

    Thanks for coming by today! Yum on every level (including Joe M)! 🙂

  5. Hello Robin,
    I do have to say that the recipe sounds delicious, and I will try to make it (I do have to admit that I have never made chicken and dumplings). I, for one, am glad that you gave us the easy version of the dish; I am all for saving time spent in the kitchen and still coming up with a great tasting dish.
    Now to your question as to where I would like to visit out of a favorite book. Don’t laugh, but it’s a make-believe world called Pern, from a book by Anne McCaffrey called Dragonriders of Pern. Sounds crazy but that’s where I would want to go and fly on my dragon.

  6. Gotta love comfort food! Chicken & dumplings is one of my faves. And simple is even better.
    Of course I would love to go to the diner. 2nd choice, any of the mountain cabins I have read about.

  7. Robin,

    This sounds delicious. As the resident Gluten-Free Girl on Chicklets, I have one question. Can the biscuit/baking mix be Bisquick? (They make an awesome gluten-free version.)

    I’ve never tried to make dumplings before but I’m totally game after reading your recipe.

    And can I just say, Love The Cover! 🙂

  8. Welcome to the Chicklets, Robin! Congratulations on your latest release and the best of luck!

    I do believe I have everything needed to make your chicken n’ dumplin’ casserole! I’ll have to double it for my crew. 😉

  9. That recipe sounds wonderful. I’m looking forward to trying it.

    I’m glad to hear how happy you are with Entangled. I’m polishing up a ms right now that I am planning to submit to them as soon as it’s ready.

    As for places in books I’d love to visit, the list is endless and goes from the real to the fantasy. I’d love to go to Scotland and see the highlands that have fostered so many scrumptious heroes. I’d love to go to small southern towns, like yours, or like Whistle Stop from Fried Green Tomatoes. And I’d love to visit Narnia, Middle Earth, and Hogwarts. At least that last one I can possibly find a semblance of in Orlando. LOL! 🙂

  10. I just saw that I am the winner of Robins “His Southern Temptation” and the Southern Comfort coffee mug; my morning coffee will taste ten times better now! Thank you for choosing me, I am so excited.

Leave a Reply

