Kale Chips

I can’t believe this just happened. I was in the kitchen, testing out the kale chips recipe, when my 16 year old walked in and saw the bag on the counter.
“Kale! What’s kale?” he shrieked.
I said, “I’m making kale chips. Want to try some?”
He reached into the bag and ate a leaf. To that point, I’d only sniffed it. I was a little iffy when I noticed the bag said “A bold and bittersweet flavor.” It made me think of broccoli rabe, which is bitter and a very acquired taste. It took me a while to learn to like it but I do, so long as it’s smothered in garlic and/or cheese.
I turned to see his reaction. His eyes lit up. “Yum! I love kale!”
You could’ve knocked me over with a kale leaf. I said, “Want some more?”
“Oh, can I?” He jumped to the cabinet for a bowl. And filled it. With fresh kale.
(insert pics here, whenever the buggers show up; my phone isn’t cooperating)
When the kale chips were ready, I sampled one, groaned in pleasure, then took the pan to my 18 year old, the renowned vegetable hater. (He calls broccoli a weed, and he’s never seen “Seinfeld”. He uses German swear words to describe spinach.) I said, “Try one. Just one.” He balked. I held out the pan, grinning. He relented.
I said, “So?”
He said, “I hate this, but you were right.” And he reached for another leaf.
I need two more bags of this stuff! ๐Ÿ™‚ย Thank goodness I already had a second pan of kale chips in the oven. Alex took what was left on the first.
I’m putting kale in everything now. ๐Ÿ™‚ Tomorrow I’m going to try garlic salt instead of sea salt, and Wednesday, yet another version with grated parmesan cheese. Thursday, maybe with Old Bay. Yum!!
Abigail, thank you for this experiment. Alex (my son with autism, no less) is usually great with testing out new foods, but nothing on the planet could’ve prepared me for his newfound love of, of all things, kale. I’d have taken a pic of Alex enjoying his new love but he hates getting his picture taken. You wouldn’t believe the bribery Iย employย when it’s picture day at school.
Yay, KALE!! ๐Ÿ™‚
10 thoughts on “Kale Chips

    • Alex asked for kale with his breakfast today. I was only a little sad when I filled the plate and he said, “Too much! Too much!” ๐Ÿ™‚ But I have enough left that I can try some more tonight. Too bad this doesn’t work with spinach…or does it? Mwahahaha…

  1. Lis’Anne, you can wait ’til Friday for MY kale chip recipe! *laugh*

    Carla, how fun to read that! I think you should pick our next theme week.
    (Oh, and also – before I forget – I bogarted your Tuesday spot next week.)

    • That requires creativity, of which I have none. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I’ll work on that. I’m crazy in love with this idea, though!

      I’ll switch with you (for next week) if you need me to. I’m trying out a parmesan zucchini recipe tonight, if Alex hasn’t eaten all the cheese already. It may have been a massive mistake to show him the freshly grated stuff after he already loved the powdered, sit-on-a-shelf-for-a-decade variety. I’m already wishing (sort of) that I hadn’t introduced him to shrimp. Now I have to share. Le sigh.

  2. For the record, tonight I tried garlic salt and parmesan. We have another winner! ๐Ÿ™‚ Not to mention, Ryan came down from goofing around on the computer to get his share. *My* kid seeks out leafy greens, willingly? It’s a Festivus miracle!

Leave a Reply

