Interview with Debut Author, Abigail Sharpe! It’s Release Day!

Abigail Sharpe

Abigail Sharpe

Hi Chicklets & Roosters! I’m incredibly excited to welcome our very own Abigail Sharpe to be a guest today. Why is one of our chicklets a guest? Because today, her debut romance novel, WHO WANTS TO MARRY A COWBOY? is officially on sale!

In honor of Abigail’s debut, I’ve cooked up some questions inspired by James Lipton’s INSIDE THE ACTORS STUDIO but with a foodie twist! 😉

1. What’s your favorite food?

You know, I don’t really have a favorite food.  I enjoy leftover spaghetti (especially if it’s sticky) just as much as crab.  (However, I would definitely choose the crab if given a choice, since I have spaghetti much more often.)  What I do have favorites of, however, are flavor combinations.  Give me something sweet and salty, like chocolate covered potato chips, and I’ll be your best friend.

Wow, chocolate covered potato chips? Where do you even find those?

2. What’s your least favorite food?

Also an interesting question, and one I can’t answer directly.  For example, I have a visceral reaction any time someone even says the word “olive” (unless it precedes oil or complexion).  However, I’d much rather eat olives than liver.  It’s just that olives are a much more common food than liver.  Ever try to order liver on a pizza?

Um…no, I’ve never tried to order liver on pizza. Don’t think I will. 😉

3. What profession would you like to attempt?

Spender of Lottery Winnings.

Hahahaha! I bet a lot of us wouldn’t mind that profession.

4. What’s a fact most people couldn’t guess about you?

Underneath this outgoing and chatty exterior, I’m really just a shy girl who wishes to be left alone.

Wow, I was almost able to do that with a straight face.  🙂

*laughs*

5. What sound or noise do you love?

I love the sound of my children laughing.  Especially the deep belly laughs or the fits of giggles.

I gotta agree with you there.

6. Vampire, werewolf, zombie, knight or ghost?

It depends.  Does the werewolf look like Joe Manganiello?  Then yes, please.  If not, I’d go with the knight.  There’s a reason Who Wants to Marry a Cowboy? isn’t a paranormal – I’m not really into undead or shifters.  I don’t HATE them, but they’re not my preferred material.

Yeah, I realized after I asked the question, I should have included cowboys in that list.

7. What three books influenced you the most in life?

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, and the unnamed one that will answer question 8. Gabaldon has such a beautiful way with words.  I could read her forever.  It was also on the way to her book signing that I learned about National Novel Writing Month, which started my serious pursuit of writing.  Sense and Sensibility opened up the world of Jane Austen to me, where fighting for your true love means not settling for convenience.  And the unnamed one…

8. What first inspired you to write?

I read a Harvey Wallbanger (a book you want to throw against the wall) and thought, I could write so much better than this!  So I tried.  It’s not as easy as it looks, folks.  Although I still have quibbles with that story, I have a lot more respect for the author.

9. What subgenre do you write?

Contemporary stories of love and laughter and happily ever after.  As I explain it, it takes place on earth, in the present, and without vampires.

But one sexy cowboy! 🙂

10. What’s your writing schedule like?

It’s  important to me to make sure my kids remember their childhood with me in it, and not as the woman sitting at her desk typing.  Therefore, I don’t start writing until they go to bed, so I try to write between 9pm and 11pm every night.  Now, there are exceptions.  Sometimes I’ll spend the day at the library or at a book store.

Sounds like you’re striking a good balance between work and home life.

11. Where will you conferences or book signings in the next six months?

I’m presenting a workshop at the Volusia County (Florida) RWA chapter in two weeks and I’m attending the Romance Writers of America annual conference in July.  Other than that, you can find me at the First Coast Romance Writers meeting in Jacksonville the second Saturday of every month.

My book is an e-release, but I can sign copies through AuthorGraph!

Yay for AuthorGraph! And double yay for RWA annual conference!

12. Where can people find you on the internet?

Oy, I’m all over the place.

And I’m on Goodreads – just search for Abigail Sharpe.

I’m also having a giveaway on my blog that ends TONIGHT (May 7) and a Goodreads giveaway that ends on May 9.

And here folks! Abigail is found weekly right here, on Chicklets in the Kitchen! 

13. What’s your latest book about?

About 300 pages.  *drum tap and cymbal clap*

WHO WANTS TO MARRY A COWBOY?  When cowboy Riley Pommer’s siblings decide to turn the family ranch into a singles retreat — and make him the unwilling market-research guinea pig — he’s not expecting the attraction that develops between him and reluctant bachelorette Ainsley Fairfax. Can Riley and Ainsley get past sabotage attempts from the other would-be wives and family pressures and forever lasso their hearts?

Make sure to leave a comment! One lucky commenter will win an e-book copy of WHO WANTS TO MARRY A COWBOY!

22 thoughts on “Interview with Debut Author, Abigail Sharpe! It’s Release Day!

  1. Congratulations, AbbyGail! It’s finally here! You already know how much I love WWTMAC, but I’ll say it again here for those who haven’t read it – it’s a fabulous story with lots of humorous moments! I can’t wait to get my copy and have it autographed by my favoritest author!!! o/

    P.S. Great questions, Mary! Great answers, Abs!

  2. Lis’Anne, you beat me to the posting punch. 🙂 Mary, thanks for the fun interview. If potato chips are gluten free, I’ll see if I can find some chocolate covered ones for you. 🙂

    • Believe it or not, it depends on the chips. UTZ is the best choice for gluten-free chips. (I can even eat their cheese balls!) Not every chip maker out there guarantees their chips are gluten-free.

      Congrats again on the book birthday!

  3. Pingback: It’s May 7, 2013. Happy Birthday, WHO WANTS TO MARRY A COWBOY? !!! |

  4. Congrats on the release, Abigail. I’m so excited for you! And I can’t wait to get my hands on your cowboy …

    As for the sweet/salty combination, I’ve always thought the person who could make chocolate-covered popcorn would be a genius. I’m also a big fan of the PopChips Katy’s Kettle Corn flavor. Salty … sweet … perfection.

  5. You need to try Indiana Popcorn’s chcocolate peanut butter popcorn! But speaking of sweet & salty, wanna get my hands on Abigail’s cowboy! Off to my favorite vendor in search…

  6. Congratulations, Abigail!!!!! Thanks for sharing your inspirations, particularly the Harvey Wallbanger. I had a similar experience, reading a truly horrendous book (and it was even more disappointing because it was by an author I had always previously admired). But even writing badly ain’t easy! 🙂

    Looking forward to reading Who Wants to Marry a Cowboy!

    And as for the sweet/salty combo – I am a die hard fan of chocolate covered pretzels! 🙂

      • LOL – You have to not open them until they get frozen.

        Of course, then I just keep trotting back into the kitchen for one or two more… One day – gone.

  7. I’m so happy for you that I’m stunned into silence. That doesn’t happen often, so enjoy it. 🙂 Seriously, I’m thrilled! Hope you’re having an awesome day! Now if you’ll excuse me, ahem…

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear Who Wants to Marry a Cowboy, happy birthday to YOU! 🙂

  8. Abby! I’m so excited for you. Loved your favorite sound. Mine too. Anyway, I hope you sell many books and can’t wait to read yours!

    Selena

Leave a Reply

