Guest Chicklet–Lynn Cahoon

Hi Chicklets and Roosters! It’s the Gluten-Free Girl back again with another author interview. This week, we have the lovely Lynn Cahoon. She’s being a good sport and answering a few of my James Lipton inspired questions. 

1.What’s your favorite food?

I love fish, seafood, anything with creamy goodness.

And potatoes. Potato Chips, mashed potatoes, French fries, and, OMG, potato soup. We just had grilled potato strips with garlic butter. They were amazing.

Brownies are my favorite dessert.

And I’m learning to love salads.

(I’m with you on the brownies!)

2. What’s your least favorite food?

Beans. And liver. (Yep, once again, I have to agree with you. You’ll never find liver on my gluten-free menu–no matter how healthy it is!)

3. What turns you on?

Love, taking care of each other, and water.  I love sitting on the beach watching the waves come in and leave. The power of the ocean seems to feed my soul. (Too true. There’s nothing as peaceful as listening to waves crash against the shore.)

4. What turns you off?

Meanness in people. Hatred. I feel like a Miss Universe contestant, but why can’t we all just get along? (I couldn’t agree with you–or Miss Universe–more.) 🙂

5. What profession would you like to attempt?

I’d like to be a lawyer.

6. Vampire, werewolf, zombie, knight or ghost?

Ghost. I love haunted tales.

7. What three books influenced you the most in life?

Illusions, Lord of the Rings, and A Wrinkle in Time. All fantasy, all woo woo.

8. What first inspired you to write?

I knew I wanted to write, but thought I’d get to it someday. When I was diagnosed with cancer in 2007, I realized that for some people, someday never came. (Wow, you’re an inspiration to others just with those two sentences.)

9. What sub-genres do you write?

Contemporary romance, Paranormal contemporary romance, middle grade time travel, and cozy mystery. (Sounds like you’ve got a full plate just writing. That’s incredible.)

10. What’s your writing schedule like?

My goal is to write 1K a day, 2k on weekends.  Mostly that happens at night, after the day job.

11. Where will you be (conferences or book signings) in the next six months?

The only thing I have planned besides my chapter meetings is a time management workshop in Memphis June 1st. I’m looking forward to my time with the Memphis chapter.

12. Where can people find you on the internet?

 13. What’s your latest book about?

MARRIAGE NOT INCLUDED

Lauren is headed back to school, this time not as a fun loving coed but to achieve her dream of turning the family farm into Idaho’s first Heritage Seed Center. Selling organic Marriage Not Includedproduce at the local farmers market, she meets Miles. After an unexpected act of kindness toward her daughter, Lauren agrees to one date.

As a VP and heir apparent to HN Seeds, the family business, Miles unknowingly holds the future of Lauren’s farm in his hands. Lauren’s looking for anything but a romance. She’s got too much on her plate to risk the distraction. But he plays the one card Lauren can’t resist, family. Miles needs Lauren and her daughter to feel at home. And Lauren needs Miles and his large extended family more than she knows. But can she forgive the one betrayal that would ruin all of her plans for the future?

 Lynn, thanks for stopping by! Your new book sounds like it will tug at the heartstrings.
Readers, it’s your turn. Is there a question you’d like to ask Lynn?
10 thoughts on “Guest Chicklet–Lynn Cahoon

  1. Thanks for grilling me …. ha, ha. I’ve been using our grill for most of the meals now that it’s been so hot, but yesterday, my dh bought me a brand new range. (My oven has been burning out for the last year. And burning anything I wanted to bake.) Next week – Cheesecake brownies are on the menu, diet be darned.

    • Ooh! Cheesecake brownies! You must share the recipe. 🙂

      Thank you for being our guest this week. And congratulations on the recent release!

  2. Lynn, congratulations on the release of Marriage Not Included! The questions and answers were great – I loved haunted tales, too. 🙂

    And I feel exactly the same way about #4. I’ll never understand why some people enjoy hurting others. I say, live and let live. Make love, not war. Do unto others… If you don’t have anything nice to say… 🙂

  3. Lis’Anne – I saw a call out for a gothic novella. As soon as I don’t have a line of five (or so) books to write (or finish) that’s next on my list. LOL – I know not this word called “branding.”

    And the if you don’t have anything nice to say – that’s straight from my mom’s list of musts.

    🙂

    • I don’t know this thing called “branding” either! Even though I write historical romance, I’m also a huge fan of sci-fi, the paranormal, urban decay, and cooking. At first glance, my website looks like it’s all about historical romance, but my post subjects are all over the place. 😀

  4. What a hottie on your cover! That alone makes me want to pick up the book — but the blurb adds to the impetus. 😀

    I agree with Mary: You’re an inspiration! It’s too easy to let life pass us by without doing what we really want to do.

    On that note, when are you going to law school? 😉

  5. Hi new lala!

    I thought about the law school thing today at the real job. I don’t know if I want to be a lawyer, but I want the challenge of law school, if that makes any sense…. I know I’m not into skirted suits and heels.

    If I didn’t have to look at dead bodies, I’d like to be a detective. Not a cop, but right to the fun part, solving crimes.

Leave a Reply

