Guest Chicklet–The Super Fabulous Shelby Reed!!!

This week, I’m incredibly excited to welcome my friend, Shelby Reed, to Chicklets in the Kitchen. Shelby writes sexy contemporary romances that will sweep away the reader. I’m talking, you won’t sleep because you cannot put the book down! Ah, you don’t want to listen to me gush. Instead, let’s get started with our, James Lipton inspired, interview.

Welcome, Shelby.

1. What’s your favorite food?  Crème Brulee

2. What’s your least favorite food? Salmon

3. What turns you on? Tender-hearted men, bad boys, animal lovers, feather mattresses

4. What turns you off? Arrogance, cattiness

5. What profession would you like to attempt? Pastry chef

6. What’s a fact most people couldn’t guess about you? I read Tarot cards

7. What sound or noise do you love? The noisiness of my family when we’re all together

8. Vampire, werewolf, zombie, knight or ghost? Vampire

9. What three books influenced you the most in life? Hummingbird by LaVyrle Spencer, The Outsider by Penelope Williamson, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

10. What first inspired you to write? I couldn’t find the stories I wanted to read on the store shelves.

11. What subgenre do you write? Contemporary only now.

12. What’s your writing schedule like? It’s all over the place. I write when swept up in inspiration. When push comes to shove, I somehow find the groove and get it finished, but being a temperamental artist is painful!

13. Where will you conferences or book signings in the next six months?  As of right now, I’ll be signing at the Literacy signing and the Berkley author signing this summer at Romance Writers of America National Conference. There may be additional signings, but right now it’s up in the air.

14. Where can people find you on the internet?

I’m at www.shelbyreed.com and on Twitter as ShelbyReedAuthor. I’m also on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/shelby.reed

Shelby’s latest book, GAMES PEOPLE PLAY, received a 4-Star Review from RT Book Reviews. Congratulations, Shelby! And I assure you, my book has been pre-ordered since the day the option became available on Amazon. I’ve read the first 50 pages of this novel and loved it. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

15. What is GAMES PEOPLE PLAY about? 

Sydney Warren is a successful painter of erotic landscapes—just the artful fantasies of a woman whose own life has been stripped of passion. Though she has stayed loyal to her boyfriend, Max, he’s unable to Shelby Reed Games People Playignite the sparks they once shared, leaving Sydney wanting. Then comes the stranger, an work of art himself, and everything changes

With chestnut hair, mesmerizing green eyes, and the perfect body, Colm Hennessy is every woman’s fantasy. He too is aroused and more intrigued by the beautiful artist than he expected to be—because it wasn’t supposed to happen this way. For there’s something about Colm that Sydney doesn’t know…

Colm is only pretending to be a model. He’s been hired by Max to seduce her—a twisted scheme to test her fidelity. But Max never imagined that Colm would feel something real. As Sydney and Colm’s intimacy grows, as passions neither expected are unleashed, the stakes in a cruel game are raised—and desire isn’t the only thing set to spiral out of control.

Thanks for having me!!

8 thoughts on “Guest Chicklet–The Super Fabulous Shelby Reed!!!

  1. Hi, Shelby! Welcome to the Chicklets’ kitchen. I love that you started writing because you couldn’t find what you wanted to read on the shelves. I actually wrote my first MS because I was an avid reader and kept finishing books with the thought, “I can write better than that!”

    Let me tell you, it’s harder than it looks.

    • I have to agree with you, Arlene. Writing is definitely harder than it looks. But so worth it.

      And Shelby’s writing is always amazing! (Yes, I’ve been a fan-girl of hers for a long while.) 🙂

  2. I LOVE creme brulee!! 🙂 But even more than that, I LOVE YOU! Congratulations on your fabulous release! I’m so incredibly excited for you and can’t wait to sink my teeth into your beautiful story! 🙂

  3. I should have chosen chef as my wanna be job. Darn. I guess I’ve been failing at my grilling lately so feeling a bit defeated.

    Great interview Shelby. Good luck with the release. 🙂

  4. Number 10 is my favorite answer 🙂 Love it!

    I try doing the whole “writing when I’m swept away by the mood” thing, but my swept away usually gets interrupted by students, papers to grade, or my family needing something constantly. The book always gets pushed to the back burner. How do you manage it with family around?

    And the book sounds like fun! I look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

