On cooking when you’re pressed for time

Folks, I hate to tell you this, but Abigail’s asking the wrong question. Her new book is titled “Who Wants to Marry a Cowboy?” when a much better question is “Who Wants to Marry a Chef?”

I know the answer to answer that one: Me, me! I’d love to have someone cook for me. All. The. Time. And if he looks like John Stamos (or Gerard Butler or Channing Tatum), all the better.

Sadly, that’s not possible. The Boyfriend β€” who is NOT a dead ringer for a hot movie star β€” cooks even less often than I do. In fact, he expects me to do the cooking for him. Say what? Hasn’t he heard of Women’s Lib? πŸ˜‰

But β€” for this week only β€” I have something almost as good as a live-in chef. I have Diet-to-Go.

In my other other life as a weight-loss blogger, I’m an ambassador for the Diet-to-Go meal delivery service. As such, I’m taking part in the company’sΒ Summer Shape-Up campaign. (You can read all the details by clicking that link, which takes you to Diet-to-Go’s blog, or check out my blog post on the subject.)

As part of the campaign, they’re providing me with a week’s worth of meals and a small stipend in exchange for a review and some social media promo.

Diet-to-Go Meal DeliveryThat’s right. I get a full week of breakfasts, lunches and dinners that I don’t have to cook β€” or even think about. All I have to do is pull one out of the freezer, heat it up and enjoy. Considering I’m spending all my free time writing/doing RWA chapter president stuff, that’ll come in handy.

The meals arrived on my doorstep Wednesday morning, and I have to admit, there were a few I wanted to rip into right away. Portobello Lasagna? Spinach Quiche? Creole Catfish? Hook me up!

I opted to try the low-carb meals this time. When I won a free week’s worth in February, I went with the traditional low-fat menu. Everything was delicious, but I thought (read hoped) the low-carb offerings would be lower in WW Points. Some of the low-fat ones seemed over-the-top β€” and I thought the carb counts pushed them there.

Well, when I did the WW math, I discovered most of the low-carb meals have just as many Points. But I’m hoping they keep me fuller longer. They have to, because the daily Points tallies on the suggested meal combos leave no room for snacks … unless I snack on 0-Point fruits and veggies.

And let’s be honest β€” how often do I want to snack on plain fruit and veggies? Hint: Not very.

I wish I were that girl who liked to gnaw on plain celery, but I’m not. I prefer my cruditΓ©s with a generous dollop of hummus or ranch dip β€” and celery must be stuffed with peanut butter or cream cheese.

How about you? Would you rather marry a chef or a cowboy? Would you sign up for a meal delivery service? Could you snack on nothing but 0-Point fruits and vegetables for a whole week?

Answer any or all of those questions in the comments. Inquiring minds want to know.

8 thoughts on “On cooking when you’re pressed for time

  1. Much of my snacking these days is 0 point fruits/vegetables. I probably go through 2 lbs of pineapple in a week. And we have to restock on bananas mid-week also. Plus peppers, cucumbers, apples…. But if I had to be restricted to that because of high-point meals? I would be miserable. I would suddenly crave other things. I need my little 2 point packs of pringles sometimes. That’s just how it is.

    I also don’t know whether I could be on a meal plan like that. What if I’m not in the MOOD for whatever it is that they have for me?

    To your chef question, well… while it would be nice? I used to have a friend who was married to a chef. He never wanted to cook at home because he was tired….

    But man would it be nice to have someone prepare at least half the meals *sigh*

    • I didn’t think about him being too tired to cook at home. Maybe I should amend my question to “Who wants to marry a man who loves to cook?”

      Where do you find 2-Point Pringles? I need to get me some of those.

      When I had my first week of Diet-to-Go meals, I mixed and matched β€” and that’s allowed. So if you’re not in the mood for chili, you can swap it out for a sandwich.

  2. I don’t think I could do the meal delivery thing – I’d still be doing the cooking for my family and I’d want to eat what they’re eating. But I am cooking up healthier meals and we’re all working out these days. πŸ™‚

    I’m having a hard time with snacks right now. Fruits/veggies don’t stay with me long enough. I’ve discovered I’m back in the kitchen every hour or so looking for something else to munch on. Hummus and pita chips seem to work the best for me, but I don’t know how healthy that is.

    • Hummus and pita chips aren’t a terribly unhealthy snack, so long as you don’t mow down half a bag of chips in one sitting. Have you tried hummus with veggies? I love eating it with cucumber spears and bell pepper strips.

      • No, I haven’t. I didn’t even think of dipping any sort of vegetable in it. As luck would have it, I’ve got cucumbers and I’m making a new batch of hummus today. Thanks, Arlene! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Quick, easy dinner: Cheesy Sprouts and Sausage | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

