Who Doesn’t Love Fries?

Yeah, I know, I’m supposed to be healthy, what with all the running and the veggies and stuff. Once in a while I need have a glass of wine. Or three. Sue me.

However, not long ago a local restaurant tried out some new ideas for summer, and one got my attention: eggplant fries. Needless to say, I had to try them.

The next time I went there, they were my lunch. Me. a glass of water, and an order of eggplant fries. OMG, you’ve never tasted anything like it. Even if you swore up, down, left, right, and sideways that you’d NEVER in a zillion years eat eggplant, believe me, you’re going to fall in love with these. For starters, who doesn’t love fries? They were my son’s dinner of choice on his first birthday. It’s been a never ending love affair since then. Chances are darn good my first daughter in law will have worked at McDonalds at some point in her life. (Let’s leave the politics aside for today, please.)

Anyway, today at lunch I went to the local produce shop and found a beautiful eggplant. I was there for apples but this called to me. Later, the tomatoes and cucumbers beckoned too, but that’s another story.  I’ve been wanting to try eggplant fries at home, and I figured, “No time like the present!” Only problem is, I’m damn tired. It’s my first day back in the office after working from home for two weeks. I’m not a happy lady.

So I’m going to try out this recipe tomorrow, but it looks enticing (and easy) enough, so I thought I’d share. You could dip the finished product in ranch dressing or marinara, but trust me, they’re perfect on their own. P-E-R-F-E-C-T. They’re also vegetarian, low carb, gluten-free, and delicious. Hence, Perfect.

http://www.thehungrymouse.com/2009/03/18/eggplant-fries/

 You’re welcome. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Who Doesn’t Love Fries?

  1. Very cool idea. My sister tried to get me to eat sweet potato fries several years ago. Ugh. But I don’t like sweet potato anything…eggplant, however. Eggplant rocks!

  2. These look crazy good! There’s a local restaurant that’s good, but they have portobello fries that are insanely good. I could make meals of them.
    Can’t wait to hear how the homemade eggplant fries go! I hate eggplant because of the texture, but maybe I’ll try it if yours turn out…

  3. Lizzie, you won’t believe how good these are. Of course, I’m talking about the ones I got at PJ Whelihan’s, but I can’t imagine they’d be worse at home. The only difference may be that she used olive oil in the recipe, and I doubt PJ’s did. 😉 So long as the weather holds and I don’t mind being in a non-air-conditioned kitchen, I’m probably going to try these out tonight. I’ll post an update with the results, but only if there’s a remarkable result (like they come out horrendous, or so good that I quit my job to just make eggplant fries forever).

Leave a Reply

