The Gluten-Free Girl Takes on Summer Writing

How do people do it? Write in the summer when the kidlets are constantly under foot? I love my boys but Jimminy Christmas! I’ve barely written a word since they escaped from the elementary school in the middle of June.

Okay, that’s a slight exaggeration. I did get my first draft completed while they slept late every day the last two weeks of June just for the pure novelty of it. (Them sleeping in, not me writing. πŸ™‚ )

But ever since, I’ve been momma/chauffeur for everything from Scouts to amusement parks, to simply swimming at the local community pool. Don’t get wrong. I love summer as much as the person, but I need to work!

Another writer who happens to be a close friend, suggested putting our kids in camp together the last week in July. BINGO! Seven hours a day for five whole days were mine, mine, MINE! And my kidlets enjoyed hanging out with their best friends.

What does all of this have to do with food?! After all, this is a food blog. Well, while most of the week, I packed a lunch, I did go out to eat one afternoon. And O-M-GOSH! The food was amazing.

My friend and I decided go for sushi. And this is just one more reason she’s one of my best friends. Hello! Most of friends wouldn’t touch sushi, whereas I can eat it every day of the week. But I digress. We hit the local Miso Asian Grill and Sushi Bar.

We chose to sample a variety of rolls and theΒ  Saigon Salmon Wrap. Okay, if you ever get to a Miso (and they’re at the very least a local chain in Virginia), you’ve got to try it. The chef prepares it fresh and quick. Although, it’s so good, it’s worth the wait.

The Saigon Salmon Wrap is wrapped in rice paper (GLUTEN-FREE! :)) and topped with a tangy sweet chili sauce. It’s an explosion of taste in your mouth that makes you want to hum with satisfaction.

The prices aren’t bad either. And best of all…I didn’t have to cook or settle for eating french fries because of a limited menu. Yay!

One reason I love this restaurant is that Miso has gluten-free soy sauce. They didn’t always, but enough folks like me asked for it, they switched! Bonus!

Alas, all good things come to end. Like summer camp. So, it’s now been two weeks and already I feel the pressure of writing again with no hope in sight for a day without the minions. But that’s okay. Soon the summer will come to a close, the fellas will be in school and I’ll be in my office working undisturbed.Β  And no doubt, I’ll be wishing for sushi. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “The Gluten-Free Girl Takes on Summer Writing

  1. Boy, I remember those days! My minions aren’t minion-y at all anymore.

    As for sushi, all 3 of my sons love it, but me and the husband, not so much. I’m glad you were able to get out and enjoy a nice lunch with a friend and get some work done! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

