Easy Breezy Meatball Subs

There are only so many things you can do with ground beef, right?  Thankfully I have another dish to add to that list – my Things-Approved Meatball Subs.

This meal works on so many levels other than being for dinner.  You can make it ahead of time.  You can freeze it.  And you can use the leftovers for spaghetti!  I try to double the recipe when I make this and then freeze whatever’s left.  Even though it makes the prep time longer, you save time in the long run because you’re only doing it once!

ingredientsTo serve four (with no leftovers) you will need:

Meatballs:
1 lb ground beef
seasonings to taste.  I usually use Italian, though one day I’m going to remember to use adobo.
breadcrumbs (or eggs – something to act as a binder)
Sometimes I add parmesan cheese.

You will also need:
Shredded mozzarella cheese (If I use the adobo, I’m going to use cheddar)
Tomato sauce (if I use cheddar, I’m going to use guacamole)
Loaf of French bread

Happy Meatballs

Happy Meatballs

Instructions:

Add the meatball ingredients together and mix around.
Form meatballs and place them on a cookie sheet.  I try to make mine relatively small, but as I keep making meatballs, they keep getting bigger.

Cook the meatballs for about 15 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

While they’re cooking:
Cut the loaf of French bread into fourths and lay each mini-loaf on its own sheet of aluminum foil.

When the meatballs are about done, spread tomato sauce on the bread and add some of the cheese.  (If I use guac, I’ll spread it on AFTER the cheese melts.)

Yummy!

Yummy!

When the meatballs ARE done, put three or four of them on the bread, add more cheese, and add more sauce.  Then wrap up the bread in the foil and put them back in the oven.  TURN OFF THE OVEN.

After everything heats up and the cheese is melted, remove the subs from the oven.

I think it’s fun for everyone to unwrap their own.  Serve with a salad or cut-up fruit and enjoy!

If you are making this to freeze, just freeze the meatballs.  I don’t think freezing bread is a good idea.

What are your meatball variations?  And please – no one mention turning it into a loaf.

4 thoughts on “Easy Breezy Meatball Subs

  1. Pingback: Shortcut Super Savory Meatball Subs | Lis'Anne Harris

Leave a Reply

