The Gluten-Free Girl and the Birthday Cake (Part 2)

So last week, I said I was going to post pictures of the birthday cake my kidlets and I made for their great-grandmother’s 90th birthday. Since I’ve made gluten-free angel food cake before, I’m not going to re-post that recipe. BUT… I will post the recipes for the two glazes we used on the gluten-free angel food cake we made for the party.

And when I say, WE made it, I’m not kidding. Those hands measuring and mixing ingredients belong to both kidlets. Thus proving, even a child (with supervision) can make an angel food cake. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So here’s a photographic recap of making the angel food cake from the first sift to setting the cooled cake on the carrier to be decorated.Sifting2Sifting

ย Whipping Egg Whites

Angel food Cake Cooling

Now! We’re up to the fun parts… the glazes. It’s a Behre tradition going back several generations that angel food cake is decorated in both a vanilla glaze and a semi-sweet chocolate drizzle. But…I am me, so I didn’t drizzle. I got a bit more creative. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Fabulous Vanilla Glaze

Ingredients
1 1/2 C Confectioner’s Sugar
3 Tbsp Milk
1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 tsp of Unsalted Sweet Cream Butter (melted)

Mix all the ingredients in a medium-sized bowl until creamy. Using a ladle, drizzle evenly over the cake, allowing the glaze to run down the sides for effect.

*Pure vanilla extract can dye the glaze. For a whiter glaze, use imitation.*
Angel food Cake Vanilla Glaze

This is what the cake looks like after the vanilla glaze is added. Next comes the chocolate…

Chocolate Glaze

Ingredients
1 1/2 C ofย  Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
3 T Butter
1 T Light Corn Syrup
1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract
In a double boiler over a hot water, mix all the ingredients until creamy.

Finished Product

And voila! There you have it!

*for a thinner chocolate glaze, only use 3/4 cup of morsels*

One thought on “The Gluten-Free Girl and the Birthday Cake (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

