Homemade French Fries

I was going to post about cookouts on Labor Day, but the truth of the matter is, I haven’t unfurled our barbecue grill since my ex left. I’m afraid to use the thing since the time I tried to start it without supervision and singed the hairs off my arm. I’m just grateful that’s all I did, and I can laugh about it now, but propane makes me nervous. Just ask the manager at my first apartment. Every time the pilot light went out, I called the main office.

Anyway, we had some fun today at my house. After a pity party in which I bemoaned my lack of success with OurTime.com, I decided to get off my arse and go do something. As it turned out, I’d split up a bag of white potatoes I picked up at the farmer’s market, half for boiling, half for french fries. See, ever since we had Boardwalk Fries in Ocean City, I’ve wanted to make homemade fries, to prove to the boys that fresh food was way better than fast food.

Coincidentally, my dad gave me a killer knife, and I mean that literally. The thing is about 14 inches long and older than I am, but he said it just needed some cleaning up and it’d be a good knife. He was right. I cleaned it up, gave it a good sharpening, and tested it out on the potatoes. It sliced raw potatoes like they were butter. I had some perfect julienned potatoes in just a few minutes.

I’ve heard you can deep fry in olive oil, but I didn’t have enough to spare so I used canola oil. I really wanted to use peanut oil, since that’s what the Boardwalk Fries folks used, but nothing about this experience was planned in advance.

07-French-Fries-Thrasher-s-1

And as with most unexpected adventures, it turned out wonderful! πŸ™‚

I put a handful of the potatoes in the oil and stirred with the metal slotted spoon I didn’t know I had. About ten minutes later they floated and had a more solid feel when I stirred them, so I figured they were done. A few shakes of salt and I called out, “Hey guys! Want to try homemade french fries?” I heard things like:

“Oh my God. Wendy’s can bite me.”

“Who needs McDonalds? I don’t want to ever go there again.”

“These are awesome! You’re the best mom ever!” (No, really, he said that.)

…and the piece de resistance: “Thank you!”

Yup. We’re going to do that again.

Just as a side note, I gave up processed sugar three weeks ago, and I feel fantastic. I highly recommend it. Just try it for one week and see how you feel. Of course, I also have a fanatical addiction to red grapes and cheese, but that’s where I get my sugar now. Yum!

5 thoughts on “Homemade French Fries

  1. Where in the sam hill is everyone? I love this post!

    I haven’t made homemade french fries in at least 20 years and you’ve inspired me to do it again! Did you double fry them like all the cooking shows say to do? I never did, but it’s been so long, I can’t remember if mine were soggy or crispy. πŸ™‚

    • LOL! I didn’t know about double-frying them; I just tossed ’em in and hoped for the best. The funny thing is that a week later, the same farmer’s market only had red bliss potatoes so I figured what the heck. Uh, no; that didn’t work. I’m hearing russets make the best french fries, so that’s what I’ll be looking for next time. But they were even better received because I used a larger pot, more oil, and made bigger batches. I’m afraid I could turn into the Walter White of french fries!

      • I’m glad you said that about the red bliss vs. russet. I’d probably have used whatever was on sale. I have an old electric deep fryer (not one of the new-fangled ones) that I can pull out of hiding. I can’t remember the last time I deep fried anything, but I’m a fast food french fry fiend so this is a must!

        Um…I don’t know who Walter White is. :-

      • I agree, Lis’Anne. I wouldn’t be a vegetarian if french fries weren’t permitted. πŸ™‚ Unfortunately for me, Tastykakes are veggie too. I had to learn to limit those.

        Walter White/Breaking Bad is my newest obsession. The oldest and I are catching up on past seasons with Netflix, hoping to be caught up by Sunday so we can watch the last few episodes as they air. AMAZING show, and probably the best example of character progression I’ve ever seen. Anyway, Walter is a chemistry teacher turned meth cook, and my french fries got to the point that I’d just stand at the stairs and call out, “Next batch!” and I’d hear things flying upstairs as the boys ran for more. A much healthier addiction, however, but every time I hear or say “batch”, I think of Walter. πŸ™‚

      • LOL! I can just imagine magazines, socks, and pieces of paper flying around in the air upstairs!

        My husband and sons are addicted to Tastykakes and the like. My problem is stupid ice cream. Lately I’ve been on a brown cow kick. I wish I hated both ingredients! LOL

        My youngest son, Noah, loves Breaking Bad! He tells me about it all the time, but I never paid attention to the man’s name. Now I know. πŸ˜‰

        Have a great day, doll!

Leave a Reply

