Gluten-Free Girl & Guest Chicklet LEXI POST

Lexi Post photo smallHappy Wednesday, Rooster & Chicklet fans! I’m so excited to have the fabulous Lexi Post on our website this week. Lexi and I met a couple of years ago at RWA National convention and I’ve been following her career ever since. She’s a delight and a snappy dresser. But there’s more to her than the super cool hats she dons. Pull up a chair and let’s get to know Lexi Post.

GFG: What’s your favorite food?

Lexi:  Ice Cream. What can I say? I’m a dessert kind of girl. 😀 But it can’t be just any old ice cream. Nope, I’m an ice cream connoisseur (snob). In fact, I make my own ice cream every weekend. Since I can’t cook (hubby does all that, so it’s the least I can do). I eat ice cream for lunch at least one day on the weekend. It is really easy to make with a Cuisinart ice cream maker. I’ve experimented with anything from almond M&M to Mango. In fact, I will leave you with a very easy recipe for making Bailey’s Irish Cream ice cream. One of my favorites!

GFG: Ooh, that sounds exciting. I can’t wait to try that recipe. Now, tell me, what’s your least favorite food?

Lexi: Hot and spicy anything. I know, I’m a whimp, but I grew up on some pretty bland food and I can’t even do black pepper! After living in Arizona for six years, I was finally able to eat mild salsa. I consider that a major accomplishment 🙂

GFG: Hmmm…interesting. That leads me to the next important foodie question. Chocolate, vegetable, fruit or salty snack?

Lexi: Sweet, but not chocolate. I’m a vanilla girl.  I’m always on the lookout for a new amazing dessert that doesn’t have chocolate. My favorites so far have been Passion Fruit Crème Brulee, Bailey’s Irish Cream Mousse, and Angel Food cake with Mascarpone Cheese filling and Strawberries.

GFG: What?! No chocolate? I couldn’t live without that. However, Bailey’s Irish Cream Mousse definitely sounds like a winner to me. I could practically hear one of my words as I read your answer. Dessert! Which brings me to my next question, what sound or noise do you love?

Lexi: Silence. Really. I love utter and complete quiet. I find it very soothing. However, today that is very hard to come by, so I settle for the sound of the waves breaking on the beach. Luckily where I live (on the beach, 50 feet from the water), the waves are small, so the sound is soothing. What can I say? I like to hear myself think.

GFG: Ah, the beach. I live for that kind of quiet too. I knew there was something I liked about you. 😉 Now, tell me, Vampire, werewolf, zombie, ancient warrior, cowboy, or ghost?

Lexi: It would have to be an ancient warrior. Gladiator, Viking, Highlander, I’m not picky. I’d really like it if he could be immortal, perhaps a god. He doesn’t have to be a big important one. I’m fine with a lesser god. Tall, dark, handsome and built, of course. I haven’t written one yet, but a couple are in the plan.

GFG: Ooh, that rolls right into my next question… What subgenre do you write?

Lexi: I write erotic romances inspired by the classics which has put me, at the moment, into the paranormal realm, but in a rather subtle way. Sorry, no vampires or shifters, but I have written ghosts (Masque), time glitches (Passion of Sleepy Hollow), curses (all so far) and one poisonous woman (Passion’s Poison). It all depends on the classic story I decide to be inspired by.

GFG: Hot, sexy reads inspired by the classics. Love it! Now, if you please, in one word, describe your perfect day.

Lexi: Productive.

GFG: There’s no denying that. 😉 Sounds pretty perfect to me too. Since we both agree that being productive is an excellent day, let’s add a little productivity. How about we tell readers where they can find you in the next six months? (Conferences and/or book signings)

Lexi: I will be at Romanticon in Ohio, October 10th -13th. This is a big conference for readers of Ellora’s Cave books. It features the authors and a signing. It also features the Ellora’s Cave Cavemen who are all professional body builders or strippers, so it is a feast for the eyes (wiggling brows here). There is a lot of parties and of course photos. If interested in attending, sign-up quick as room is running out http://ecromanticon.com/registration-main

I will also be at the Desert Dreams conference in Tempe Arizona in April, 2014 and of course, I will be at Romantic Times in New Orleans in May, 2014.

GFG: Wow, you’re one busy author! What about the internet? Where can readers find you?

Lexi:  I am on Facebook, twitter, linked-in, Goodreads, Amazon author page, Happily Ever After Thoughts blog, and, of course, my website.

GFG: What’s your latest book about?passionspoison_msr

Lexi: Passion’s Poison just came out August 21, 2013 in all e-formats. It’s about Beatrice Rappaccini, the poisonous woman I mentioned, who must have intercourse with men to expel her toxins or she will die. Unfortunately, this makes the men very ill and if she is with one man too much, she can kill him. So when she falls for Zach Woodman, former logger turned chainsaw artist, she has to get creative, yet even that doesn’t completely work.

Since we are talking food and romance, I have to tell you about the food in Passion’s Poison. When Bea gets stuck at Zach’s house due to a snowstorm, they have to make something from what he has in his cabinet. She whips up some macaroni and cheese pizza – my husband gave me the idea. Also, when they visit Bea’s mom, a woman holding onto the hippie lifestyle, her mother makes lasagna, only this time without the special ingredient 😉 she put in it last time Bea brought a friend to the house. Lastly, Bea’s Grandma Beatrice has her over for tea and you know what she served? Girl Scout cookies! What else? Oh sugar, now I’m hungry.

GFG: That story sounds like a lot of fun.

masque_msr finalMasque:

Rena Mills plans to turn an abbey into a haunted bed-and-breakfast, proving she can be successful without her ex-fiancé. Inside the abandoned building, she finds Synn MacAllistair, the distinguished, self-proclaimed Ghost Keeper, and soon her dreams fill with sexual cravings for the man. At least, she thinks they’re dreams…
Synn is determined to free the souls of resident spirits, blaming himself for bringing the Red Death that killed them. When Rena steps into the old Pleasure Palace, he’s sure he can stoke her passion to complete the Masque, allowing the souls to cross over. Her innocent fire makes him crave, but it’s far too late for him.
As Rena begins an erotic journey, her heart becomes more involved with every sensual caress—until she discovers that, by completing the Masque, she’ll lose her ghosts. Synn’s betrayal wars with compassion for her ghostly friends. Torn, she must make a choice between financial security and freeing seventy-three souls. Either way, she could lose Synn.

 

Lexi Post spent years in higher education taking and teaching courses about classical literature. From the early American short story,”The Masque of the Red Death” to the 20th century American epic The Grapes of Wrath, from War and Peace to the Bhagavad Gita, she’s read, studied, and taught great classic literature.
But Lexi’s first love is romance novels. In an effort to marry her two first loves, she started writing erotic romance inspired by the classics and found she loved it.  Lexi feels there is no end to the romantic inspiration she can find in great classic literature.
Lexi lives with her husband and cat in the Caribbean where gorgeous sunsets, warm weather, and driving on the left are the norm. She makes her own ice cream every weekend, loves bright colors, and you will never see her without a hat (unless she is going incognito).

GFG:Lexi, thank you for stopping by.

Lexi: Thank you. And here’s the recipe I promised!

Recipe:

Bailey’s Irish Cream Ice Cream

Ingredients:
2 Cups of Heavy Cream
1 Cup 1%  Milk
2/3 Cup Granulated Sugar
3 Shots Bailey’s Irish Cream

Stir sugar and milk together until sugar is dissolved. Add Bailey’s Irish Cream. Then stir in heavy cream. Pour into ice cream maker and churn for 25 minutes. Pour into container and freeze for at least three hours as the alcohol keeps the ice cream on the softer side.

Guess what?! Lexi is doing a giveaway!

For a chance to win Lexi’s book Masque, leave a comment. We will randomly pick one person to receive Masque. One lucky winner will discover what foods they eat in that book since they don’t have electricity or gas! Well, what can we expect from an abandoned, haunted 155 year old abbey?

9 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl & Guest Chicklet LEXI POST

  1. Hi, Lexi. I’m planning to go to Desert Dreams next spring, too. Maybe we can meet up in person.

    I’m a sweets lover, too — but for me, chocolate rules. Unless I can get something lemon. The older I get, the more likely I am to pick a lemon dessert over a chocolate one.

  2. Sounds intriguing! (The recipe and the books!) I’ll share the ice cream with guests, but I think I’ll keep the books just for myself. 🙂 Thanks for visiting, Lexi!!

  3. Lexi, Lexi, Lexi. How can you dis chocolate for vanilla? Seriously, girl?

    And silence? Oh, honey.

    However, waves crashing on the beach is acceptable, as are the desserts you mentioned. And Cavemen.

Leave a Reply

