Gluten-Free Girl and Guest Chick CATE PRICE

Cate_PriceHappy Wednesday, Chicklets & Roosters! Today, I’m incredibly excited to be hosting my friend, LaLaLa member, and fellow Berkley author, CATE PRICE. Yesterday, was the release day for her debut Prime Crime mystery GOING THROUGH THE NOTIONS.

After much celebrating yesterday, Cate’s agreed to stop by Chicklets and chat with us a bit.

So let’s get started. 🙂

GFG: What three books influenced you the most in life?

Cate: I’ve been an avid reader since I had the strength to pick up a book, so the ones that spring to mind are books that I read as a child in England. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell, The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, What Katy Did by Susan Coolidge. There’s so many more, but we’ll stop there! I mean, I could mention Rudyard Kipling, James Herriot, Enid Blyton, Alan Garner, Roald Dahl and Malcolm Saville, but I’m only allowed to pick three.

GFG: Ooh, Rudyard Kipling…You’ll have to come back just so we can talk about him 🙂 In the meantime, when you’ve had a rough week, what’s your go –to book or movie or activity to relieve stress?

Cate: A long walk with my two dogs, and then any kind of PBS mystery – Inspectors Morse, Lynley or Lewis would fit the bill nicely. Hopefully there would also be some Chardonnay in the fridge.

GFG: I’m a Pinot Grigio girl myself. But I’m with you on the long walks. Now let’s talk jobs. What profession would you like to attempt?

Cate: When I’m eighty, I’m going to start a rock band. I’ve always fancied being a lead singer. I recently watched a documentary called “Young at Heart”, about a chorus of senior citizens in Massachusetts (average age of eighty) who  are doing material from The Clash, the Ramones, James Brown, Sonic Youth, etc. It’s absolutely brilliant and very inspirational.

GFG: See…I’m always telling my boys that when I grow up I want to be a rock star. Now, I’ve got proof that it can still happen. No, wait…I don’t want to sing in front of people. How about I just cheer you on?! Which leads me to my next question. What profession would not want to attempt?

Cate: Anything underground or in an enclosed space. I’m claustrophobic.

GFG: I hear that! Now, for the tough question. Chocolate, vegetable, fruit or salty snack?

Cate: Fruit. Chardonnay counts as a fruit, right?

GFG: Hahaha. It does in my world. Okay, what sound or noise do you love?

Cate: Steel drums. They always put me in a good mood.

GFG:Very cool. Now, what sound or noise do you hate?

Cate: The medical helicopter going over my house on its way to the nearby hospital, because it means that someone is in serious trouble.

GFG: Understood. How about something more personal? What’s a fact most people couldn’t guess about you?

Cate: I used to play women’s rugby for a very brief period in college, until I decided that I liked my teeth and wanted to keep them.

GFG: Very cool! My first college had a rugby team. But I never played. They used to sport shirts that read, “Give Blood. Play Rugby.” Sounds like your college team was just as tough.

Let’s slide into the present. What’s your writing schedule like?

Cate: I get up at 5 a.m., make coffee, and write for about two hours before work, and then as much as I can on the weekends. I used to try writing at night when I got home, but I’m better in the mornings. I also took Allison Brennan’s advice and gave up TV. Well, apart from the aforesaid mysteries and American Pickers. Oh, and House Hunters International.

GFG: Yeah, sadly television is a real time suck. Bummer. But on a brighter note, how about telling us where readers can find you in the next six months. Any conferences or book signings coming up?

Cate: I’ll be at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention in Albany, New York from September 19-22. I’m on a panel on Saturday, 9/21 at 10:20 a.m. called “Money or Love – When your sleuths are not getting paid”.

 

GFG: Hear that NY Chicklets & Roosters?! She’ll be in Albany at the end of the month. 🙂 Now, for the juicy stuff, what’s your debut novel about?

Cate: GOING THROUGH THE NOTIONS is the first in a cozy mystery series about a Going_Through_the_Notions_coverretired schoolteacher—and yes, daughter of an F. Scott Fitzgerald fan—Daisy Buchanan has finally found her calling in the quaint village of Millbury, Pennsylvania. While her husband endlessly renovates their old house, Daisy happily presides over Sometimes a Great Notion, a quirky shop that sells sewing bits and bobs, antiques, and jewelry. Daisy has her eye on an antique dollhouse and a classic Singer Featherweight at the local auction—until her friend and mentor, auctioneer Angus Backstead, is led away in handcuffs. It appears he bashed in the head of a drinking buddy who stole a set of fancy fountain pens. Daisy’s sure the sprightly old-timer couldn’t have done it. But if Daisy can’t stitch together the bidder truth—and soon—Angus will be going once, going twice, gone forever.

GFG: That sounds so exciting. I love it. My copy is on my Kindle. Chicklets fans… Do you want an autographed paper back copy for yourself?

Well comment for a chance to WIN! Don’t forget to check back on Friday when we announce the winner!

Author Blurb: Cate Price is a regular sight on the streets of her home town walking her two amazing rescue dogs, and enjoys gardening, antiquing, and cooking with friends. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and Romance Writers of America. Writing this debut novel proved to be rather an expensive project, because while researching auction houses, she also became addicted to bidding on box lots. GOING THROUGH THE NOTIONS will be published by Berkley Prime Crime on September 3, 2013. A DOLLHOUSE TO DIE FOR is slated for release in the summer of 2014 and Cate is hard at work on the third book in the series.

You can find Cate around the web through the following links.

And one more treat before Cate heads outThis is one of the treats that Daisy has in her store for the customers.

Martha’s Awesome Oatmeal Cookies
Makes about 4 dozen
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup dark brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups rolled oats
2 cups dried sour cherries
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Set the flour mixture aside.
  • Beat the butter and sugars together for a couple of minutes until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla, and beat to incorporate. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, beating on low speed until all is combined. Stir in the oats and dried cherries.
  • Using a small scoop, drop the dough onto prepared baking sheets, leaving 6 inches between cookies. (The cookies will be rather large when baked.)
  • Bake until the edges are just turning brown, about 20 minutes
  • Cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet, and then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

GFG: Cate, thank you for stopping by. Congratulations on your debut! And readers don’t forget to comment for a chance to win an autographed paper back copy of GOING THROUGH THE NOTIONS!

24 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl and Guest Chick CATE PRICE

  1. Thanks for the recipe – those cookies sound yummy! I have to say also that Black Beauty was one of my all time favorite books as a child. I’m still a sucker for anything with animals 🙂

  2. Excellent interview! Your childhood reading favorites sound a lot like mine 🙂 My copy of GOING THROUGH THE NOTIONS is already on my Kindle so please exclude me from the drawing and give someone else a chance to win.

    Congratulations on your release!

  3. Cate, I’m with you on the enclosed spaces. I had to have happy meds in order to get an MRI. Also, I decided when I’m 80, I’m going to start auditioning for crazy grandmother/wedding guest/old lady roles in movies. Or on Broadway. Haven’t decided which, yet. 🙂

    Congrats on your release. Daisy Buchanan is a great name.

  4. Rugby? I’m not tough enough for that. Ha! I’m just not coordinated enough, or tall enough, to do well in any competitive sport. Maybe that’s why I love to walk nature trails and stuff. And the steel drums, rock star combo sounds like fun. I’ll buy a ticket to that! Love the title of your book. Looking forward to reading it!

  5. I’m impressed with Rugby! I was never athletic. *sigh*
    I think you already are a rock star, Cate. I think all authors are rock stars! Can’t wait to read your book!

  6. Cate–

    I can’t wait to read my paper copy of GOING THROUGH THE NOTIONS this weekend!

    So, what was the most amazing item you discovered at the bottom of one of your box-lot purchases?

  7. Ah, I wish we’d had rugby when I was in high school. It would’ve been great for channeling my inner Hulk moments. 🙂

    Congrats on your debut, Cate! I’m taking “Notions” with me to work to read at lunch break, but if I’m late getting back, I’m blaming it on you!

    Lynn, pass the white zin over here. *hic* 🙂

  8. Hi Leslie!
    I found an uncorrected proof of Fannie Flagg’s Original Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook. It has the original black and white photos tucked into each page before where there is a printed picture on the page. I have to think that this is the author’s or editor’s own copy? It has a price of $25 printed on the cover, and I think I paid three dollars for the whole box!
    I hope you enjoy Going Through the Notions 🙂

    • That’s one of my favorite books. What an awesome find!!

      As a born and bred New Yorker, I’d never even heard of fried green tomatoes until the book/movie came out. I decided to try them and have been hooked on them ever since. The hubby and I just had some the other night. Yum!

  9. So excited to read your book. Just downloaded it.

    Will be making the cookies for my daughter. She is the judge and the jury. I’m merely a happy taster.

    Deb

  10. Thank you so much for downloading the book, Deb!!! Let’s hope that your daughter likes the cookies. I use a ice cream scoop for the dough, probably filled about halfway, and so they are quite big, but very good.

  11. I love a good Chardonnay! And you can add me to the list of folks planning to try the cookie recipe. 🙂

    Going Through The Notions sounds fantastic. Congrats on your debut!!

Leave a Reply

