Gluten-Free Girl Presents Guest Chicklet–Jaye Garland & The 25th Hour

Hi Chicklets Fans! This week we have another debut author, the incredibly delightful  Jaye Garland!!Jaye Garland Head Shot4 Jaye writes for Soul Mate Publishing and is talented as she is sweet. But don’t take my word for it, pull up a chair and read about her (and her fabulous debut) for yourself!

GFG: What’s your favorite food?

Jaye: Coffee/Cheerios/Cheeseburgers/Dove Chocolate/Greek Yogurt/Apple Pie. Wha-at? You didn’t think I’d pick just one thing, did you? This IS a foodie blog, right. LOL!

GFG:It certainly is! And you’ve just proven you totally belong here! Now tell us, what’s your least favorite food?

Jaye: Sushi. To this down-home ranch girl, that’s just bait on a plate.

GFG: What three books influenced you the most in life?

Jaye: The Bible has to be first on the list. Without getting preachy here, living a good, productive, and happy life begins with a solid foundation. It’s the best source I know for guidance and support. Next would be the Nancy Drew series. I devoured those stories like they were popcorn at the movies. I learned I could go anywhere, do anything, and be whoever I wanted—simply by turning those pages. My third choice has to be three books by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss: The Flame and the Flower, Shanna, and The Wolf and the Dove. Those novels were set in romantic historical eras. Where Nancy Drew left off, Woodiwiss carried me to places that let my adventurous spirit and imagination flourish, and led me to the writer’s path.

GFG: What an intriguing selection. I have to admit, I’ve never read Kathleen Woodiwiss. But Nancy Drew…yep, definitely read those! 🙂 Now, what turns you on?

Jaye: Walks in Mother Nature, babies taking their first steps, a kid who’s earned his first real paycheck, puppies and kittens tasting milk from a saucer for the first time, and that day when Captain Bulldog cleaned the whole house for me because my last parent was dying and he didn’t know what else to do to make it better. Yeah, he’s my rock.

GFG: That was so wonderful of him! Okay, so we know what you like…what turns you off?

Jaye: Drivers who expect to be ‘let in line’ at the very last minute when the rest of us have queued for the last three miles; monster-size dogs with and even bigger growl, running unleashed but with the guy who just laughed like it was funny; trying on clothes in the dressing room and then leaving without buying a darned thing…because, well, you know why; and milk that’s gone sour.

GFG: I can definitely relate to the dressing room drama. 🙂 So, when you have a bad day shopping or when you’ve had a rough week, what’s your go –to book or movie or activity to relieve stress?

Jaye: I’m hooked on the bridal shows: Say Yes To The Dress, SYTTD-Atlanta, I Found The Gown, Randy To The Rescue, etc. The shows are set to record so whenever I need to zone out, I hit that play button. Captain Bulldog has even gotten into the Bridesmaid series. He’s not fooling me, though. What guy wouldn’t enjoy seeing bright, flowing, gowns on gorgeous young women? Ha!

GFG:Ha indeed! Guess his secret’s out. Let’s even the playing field a bit. What’s a fact most people couldn’t guess about you?

Jaye: I’m an open book. Hmmm. There must be something…. Oh yeah, for about 15 years, I was allergic to cashews. I’d blister like I’d been burned if I just touched a nut. For whatever reason, that went away and I’m loving the cashew treats again. Yea!

GFG: Wow! I didn’t know you could lose an allergy. That’s like a vampire no-longer allergic to the great flaming ball in the sky. Which brings me to my next question. Vampire, werewolf, zombie, ancient warrior, cowboy, or ghost?

Jaye: I’m such an American Western fan. It’s gotta be cowboys. It’s okay if an occasional ghost pops by now and then. I had my flirtations with Medieval, too, but I keep coming back to my cowboys. Gotta love ‘em!

GFG: What first inspired you to write?

Jaye: I’ve heard this from a lot of authors and it’s the same with me. I’d read one too many books with an ending that let me down. This one dropped me like the proverbial anvil hovering over Wiley Coyote. Yup, that book hit the wall and I swore, “I could write better than that!” Uh-oh. I’d just dared myself, so I had to pick up the pen and give it a try. It wasn’t so easy, though. More determined than ever, I studied the craft like I was earning my Masters, and gained a healthy respect for all those who’ve gone before me in this wonderful career of writing.

GFG: Yep, I’ve heard that before from other writers, too. Glad to see you stuck with it and have a published novel now! What subgenre do you write?

Jaye: My strength lies in American Westerns, both historicals and contemporaries. They say, write what you know. Well, I grew up on a ranch… ‘Nuff said. Ha!

GFG: Alrighty then… What’s your writing schedule like?

Jaye: In a word, sporadic. I scavenge time from my whole day for reading, brainstorming, plotting, drafting, editing, revising, and polishing. I’m like one of those plants that takes forever for the seed to germinate and pop through the earth, but once the first leaf unfurls, it becomes a small bush—like overnight—and then the bush just seems to expand daily. That’s me, seedling-to-bush-to-hedge-to-tree, but my seedling and bush stage lasts the longest.

GFG: Interesting analogy! Let’s keep going. In one word, describe your perfect day.

Jaye: Published!

GFG: Woot! That would be today!! What’s your latest book about?

Jaye: The 25th Hour is a time travel historical romance.  Chased through time by her father’s murderer, an architect lands in the arms of a 19th century rancher. The two lovers realize they must find the killer before another life is taken…and the window of time separates them, forever.

The excerpt below is the scene that sets up a major hurdle for the ‘current day’ heroine, Sheridan Wells. She’s now in 1877 and is attempting to bring the hero’s five year old daughter, Angel Rose, out of a sudden and unexplained funk.

She and Alexander had discussed Angel’s mood and agreed they’d leave well enough alone unless the situation became worse. Angel was probably just going through another phase of childhood. One that excluded all interaction with adults, and with Sheridan, specifically.
Not one to give up so easily, Sheridan had an idea. Without looking toward Angel, she spoke aloud.
“My goodness, but this new stove is a grand thing. It’s about time we break it in, good and proper. An apple pie would be just the thing! Alexander would really enjoy fresh apple pie after a long day out on the prairie chasing livestock or putting up hay. Yes, if I start right now, the pie will be done before they bring in that last load of hay for the day.”
the25thhour2_850
She began assembling baking utensils and the ingredients. From the pantry, she retrieved flour, lard, salt, butter, and a basket of fresh picked apples. Not once did Angel look up from her puzzle. At least, not when she thought she would notice, anyway.
If she kept up this disinterested façade, maybe Angel would eventually join in the pie making. She always liked to help with the baking.
Sheridan filled the basin with water and put the apples in, one by one. She’d make two pies. That was eight apples per pie. She liked to fill her fruit pies as full as possible. There was nothing so disheartening as serving a skimpy looking dessert.
She grabbed a knife from the utility drawer and began peeling the apples. She’d peeled one and set it in another bowl filled with a couple cups of water and a squeeze or two of a lemon, just to keep the apples from turning brown.
“Daddy doesn’t like peeled apples in his pie.”
Sheridan almost jumped. She’d suspected that Angel had been paying attention but the little girl’s comment still took her by surprise.
“You mean, he likes the peelings left on the apples? How strange. Are you sure?”
Sheridan had never heard of not peeling the apples for a pie but she’d never made one for Alexander Reed before, either.
“He always had Mrs. Biggs leave the peelings on when she made us pies.”
“Well, if you’re sure about that. I won’t peel any more of them. We’ll just core and slice them.” She began sectioning an apple. “I guess they’re healthier this way. My father always told me that most of the vitamins are in the skins.”
Shaking her head, she kept her doubts to herself but wondered if this was one of the things the settlers did that Americans in her time had gotten away from. This could be one of those forgotten traditions lost through the ages.
“Would you like to help me make the pie?”
“No, I just want Daddy to be happy.” Angel returned to her puzzle.
“Well, I guess this is just something new to me. It sounds like I have a lot to learn about the Reed way of life.”
With no other comments from the little girl, she felt like she was alone in the room with a ghost looking over her shoulder. Such an odd feeling. She shook it off. At least she’d had some interaction with Angel today, if only to stand corrected on her pie baking skills.

When I needed to write that scene, I had to find out how those pies would turn out because in the next scene, the heroine realizes she’d been duped by a five-year-old. Would the pies be similar to a baked apple dessert? Would they even be edible? I didn’t know, so yes, I actually baked a pie without peeling the apples. Just cored and sliced them. The result? Let me just say that my hubby told me to never do that again to his favorite dessert. Ha!

GFG: That’s pretty funny! But Jaye isn’t just here to share an excerpt. As she mentioned, this is a foodie blog. So Jaye has generously agreed to share the real apple pie recipe!

Recipe:  Jaye’s Award Winning Apple Pie

(Short story: When I lived overseas, the ladies in my ExPat community liked my pies so much, it was the standard item designated for me to bring to any function. The ladies were from all over the globe: Great Britain, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Philippines, Germany, Norway, and a few of us Americans. When I was about to move back home, for good, they insisted that I teach them my pie baking secrets, so I did. It was a hoot as they did the Metric conversions and lusted after my pastry cutter.)

Jaye’s Plain Pastry (for one double-crust pie)

3 Cups sifted all-purpose Flour
1 tsp. Salt
1 Cup Shortening (Crisco or lard works best!)
5 – 7 Tbs. Cold Water

Sift salt & flour together. Cut shortening into flour with pastry blender till pieces are pea-sized. Pour half the water into “well” of flour and fold flour/shortening mixture into water. Add water, working quickly, until dough is proper consistency. Kneed 2-3 times only. Divide dough into halves. Lightly dust rolling pin and board with flour and roll out bottom crust. Position in pie tin and fill. Roll out top crust. With table knife, mark top crust with steam slits and position over filling. Seal. Crimp edges and bake.

(Note: the secret to good crust is to NOT blend the dry ingredients with your hands. Use a pastry cutter or the dough gets too warm.)

Jaye’s Award Winning Apple Pie

4 Green Apples, and
4 Red or Golden Apples, pared, cored & sliced
¾ Cup Sugar
5 Tbs. All-purpose Flour
1½ Tsp. Cinnamon
¼ Tsp. Nutmeg
Pinch of Salt
1 – 2 Tbs. Butter
Pastry for one double-crust pie

Bathe apple slices with 2-3 tbs. Lemon juice (to preserve color and to add tartness.) Sift spices with flour and sugar. Sprinkle mixture over apple slices coating each slice well. Mound all the apples into bottom pie shell and dot with butter. Adjust top crust, moisten edge with milk and crimp edges together to seal crusts. Brush top with milk then lightly dust with about 1 Tbs. of Sugar. Line bottom of oven with tin foil because the pie will bubble over. Bake at 400° F. for 40-50 minutes—or till apples are done. (Crust should be golden brown.) Enjoy!

Author Blurb:    Born and raised on the Great Plains, Jaye Garland thrives on ‘what-if’ scenarios by turning ordinary ranch life events into novels steeped in adventure on the American West. Her award winning first novel, THE 25th HOUR, is available as an eBook on Amazon.com as of August 28, 2013. You can find Jaye around the web through the links below.

Twitter:  @jayegarland
Goodreads:  Jaye Garland

Your turn, readers! If you could go back in time, where would you most like to visit?

 

 

33 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl Presents Guest Chicklet–Jaye Garland & The 25th Hour

  1. Hi, Jaye. Welcome to the kitchen. Thanks for sharing your pie crust secret … I can bake cookies and cakes and muffins and cupcakes, but I don’t do pies. I’m scared to death of making pie crust. I’ll occasionally buy the premade pastry rounds from the refrigerator case at the store, but I can’t make a good crust myself.

    It’s funny you started writing because you thought you could do better than the book you were reading. Before I started writing, I read extensively — and most of the time, I’d close the book and think “I can write better than that.”

    I, too, have learned it’s not as easy as it looks.

    • Hi Arlene! I guess making pies was an art I learned at my mother’s apron strings. She could whip one out, from fresh apples to the oven, is five minutes flat. I was never that fast, but I sure kept her recipe. It just takes a little practice, and the will to perfect that technique. Come to think of it, making a great pie is a lot like writing a memorable book. The hard work will pay off. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Hi, Jaye!

    Congrats on your release! I have it queued in my TBR pile and I see you’ve already gotten some FABULOUS reviews!

    My mom has made pies with peels on them – not so appealing, right? 🙂

    • Good morning Abigail!
      You’re the first person, ever, that I’ve known who’s even heard of baking an apple pie with the skins left on them. There’s a good reason we peel them, but I won’t spoil the fun for those who haven’t read that part of my book. That scene is one of my favorites. And, thanks for commenting on my book reviews. The high praise is very gratifying. You, Abigail Sharpe, were a major help in getting this book polished. Your critiques were awesome, thank you!

      • I think she was trying to make it healthier – the same justification Sheridan gives herself.

        And not a major help. I just helped you find where to chip the exterior to let your masterpiece through. But thank you. 🙂

  3. Hi Jaye,

    If I could go back in time it would definitely be Europe in the 1800’s. But I’d have to go back as very wealthy. The lower classes didn’t have it so good! Great post. I’m with you on the expat community from all over the world, and the metric system. Trying to convert my recipes to metric doesn’t always work! By the way, I swear I could smell your pie cooking while reading your recipe. People don’t do pies over here in Europe and I do miss that.

    • Hello Kathleen! So nice to see you this morning. Well, it’s afternoon where you are. One of these days I’m going to get back to Europe. The ExPat life is something you just have to experience, right? It’s amazing how quickly we make our friend connections when we’re out of our normal elements. I think having lived that life helped me to move my current day heroine into that ‘other world adventure’ of surviving in the 19th century. And, it was a heck of a lot of fun! So, if you’re a baker, take my recipe and show those Europeans what they’re missing. You’ll be a star. 🙂

      • Trouble is, Jaye, I wouldn’t want to give your recipe a bad name with me making it! But I did copy it and will try it for myself first. I come from a family of six. I consider myself a pretty good cook, but pies? I used to stand right beside my sister, do everything she did and afterward you didn’t even have to taste the pies to know who made which one. I will never forget her saying you have to “feel it in your soul that the crust is right.” Yep, she must have because she made awesome pies!

  4. Good morning Chicklit Ladies and Gents!
    I have to say that I’m thrilled to be here. I’ve tagged along with this group for a while now, and it’s a bit of an odd sensation that I’m the featured guest. I’m in awe of all those who’ve gone before, but I’m in great company. Thanks for hosting me!

    • Linda, you made me laugh about Angel Rose’s name. I hadn’t quite looked at it that way until you mentioned it. She got her name from how she came into the world…but sometimes that doesn’t always work out the way we think it should. Too funny, thanks for the giggles.

  5. I write stories set in the late 1800s and truly love that era – the elegant dresses, the emerging technologies, the culture – it was an exciting time to be alive. I’d love to travel to London in the 1880s. What a thrill that would be! On my way back from the 1880s, I’d take a detour to London around 1960 and look up a hot young musician by the name of John Lennon…who knows, maybe I’d inspire a song or two 😉

    • Oh Tara, you have a great idea! What a thrill to meet one of our musical heroes before they become stars and find out who they really were before all the fame and glory. If I picked a musician from the past, I’d have to go with Jimmy Hendrix…for the simple reason that I got to hold his guitar in The Vault in the original Hard Rock Café in London. Will have to post that picture to my website. Just don’t pay any attention to the fact that I was holding it upside down. I’m a Righty. 😉

      • Can’t wait to see it…we were at the Hard Rock Café in Niagara Falls last month and I noticed John Lennon’s hat. Needless to say, I took my sweet time walking past the display 🙂

  6. Good morning Jaye!

    I loved your interview–so much flair and flavor! Congratulations on your stunning debut and thanks for the pie recipe. I’m going to have to bribe someone to make it for me since I love eating pie but can’t bake them 😦

    • Hi Pamalalala!!! Just hold the pie up high near your pretty face and no one will care who baked it, because they’ll be lost in your beautiful smile. You want ice cream with that? Love you, girlfriend!

  7. I’ve decided to order apple pie for desert when we go out today when Catherine and I go out. Learned to eat them the way my dad ate them, with a slice of cheese on top. You made me hungry. LOL. Got your book on the TBR pile also. Can’t wait to find out about Angel.

    • Hi Donald! {{waving to Catherine!}}
      All this talk about apple pie has me craving dessert…and it’s just now lunch time. I never could understand the slice of cheese on top of perfectly good pie, but I know it’s an awesome touch for those who like it that way. My mother would do that. Hmmm. Are you, by any chance, part English? That was her excuse for almost everything. LOL! Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy Sheridan, Alexander, and his daughter, Angel Rose. 🙂

    • Hi Janna!
      Nice to see you here. Last time we saw each other was in Atlanta. I really enjoy these opportunities to learn more about our extended friendships. Thanks for your good wishes, and see you next summer!

  8. Hello, Jaye! I’m so glad to see you here! Congratulations on your debut release!

    I tried making a crust once for a pecan pie, but it was so wrong it wouldn’t come out of the pie plate. :- I wasn’t about to waste all those ingredients so I took a spoon to the mess in the pie plate. It tasted great anyway! LOL I never tried it again. Your recipe and instructions have inspired me to give it another go. 😀

    • Hi Lis’Anne! It’s been a long time since we’ve seen each other. I’m thinking Orlando, right? Your ‘so wrong’ story reminded me of a time when my native-born Texas M-I-L was under orders from her son to teach me how to make home-made tortillas. She assumed that I knew nothing about cooking. Apparently, my hubby told her I was helpless in the kitchen. When it came time to roll out the tortillas, she said, “Don’t worry if your first few look like the state of Texas. You’ll get the hang of it.” Well, after all that practice baking pies, I nailed the tortilla thing on the first try. The look on her face was priceless. LOL!

      • I bet you’re right! Orlando seems eons ago. Well, maybe when nationals roll back around to Orlando we’ll see each other again!

        Great story! I’d love to try making home-made tortillas and I can guarantee you mine would look like the state of Texas! LOL

  9. Hi Jaye!
    I’m saving this recipe for Thanksgiving because my daughter loves apple pie. And I do make my own pastry! Love the cover and the premise for your book. All the best with your new release!
    Cate

  10. Great interview and super excerpt. I can’t wait to read the book–and see how Angel Rose and Sheridan come to terms. 🙂 I intend to try that apple pie. I can never get mine to pass the ultimate test: comparison to my mom’s. Yours sounds wonderful. Best of luck with The 25th Hour.

  11. Hi Barb, thanks so much for stopping by! I’m wondering, though, if your mom’s apple pie is always going to be the one to beat. After all, mothers are about the best thing in the whole world. Right up there with glitter, chocolate, and fireworks. I’m betting your family says the same about your pies. Enjoy the trip back to the 19th century. Lalala!

  12. My husband makes a great apple pie and if he knew I was even reading about yours, he’d say I was cheating on him! Yours does look fantastic, but we’ll just keep that as our little secret 😉

    Love the excerpt! I’m so happy to see how well the book is doing. Go Jaye!!

  13. Maura,
    Us girls have to keep a few secrets, right? So glad you stopped by, and thanks for the good wishes on my debut release. You know I’m jazzed about that! It was so fun to see you in Atlanta this summer. Take care of your handsome hubby!

  14. Jaye, I cracked up when you called sushi bait on a plate! I’ll never look at sushi the same way again.
    I started The 25th Hour last night and I’m loving it! What’s your next book
    about?

Leave a Reply

