Flavors of fall

Even though the autumnal equinox doesn’t happen until later this month, Labor Day marks the unofficial end of summer. While I wish it weren’t true, fall is definitely on its way.

Autumn is like the creeping Christmas season, which now starts before Halloween if you ask retailers. It seems to come earlier every year.

How do I know? Pumpkin-flavored things are popping up all over.

First, I found a pumpkin Donut at Dunkin’ Donuts. The next day, Starbucks was touting its Pumpkin Spice Latte — here early, and celebrating its 10th anniversary.

Pumpkin Donut

Pumpkin is undeniably one of the flavors of fall. Another one is apple cider. My family used to get cider from an orchard in Kendallville, Ind., where they pressed it themselves. It was thick and sweet.  So good. You can’t buy that kind of cider in the grocery store.

 What’s your favorite fall flavor?

12 thoughts on “Flavors of fall

  1. Love pumpkin pie with lots of whipped cream. I let myself have two during the holidays and usually trash some of that before it’s gone. And apple pie. One year, I baked so many pies, (therapy) that I started giving them away to neighbors, church members. People started ducking when I arrived.

  2. I buy pumpkin everything during the fall season. We don’t GET fall down here in the tropics. So I pretend. With pumpkin. 🙂

    And one of my favorite northern memories EVER is going to the Franklin Cider Mill in MI… It’s probably been 15 years and I still remember it vividly. *sniffle*

  3. It’s gotta be Dreyer’s Pumpkin Ice Cream. I can’t get enough of it, but it’s only in the stores a very short time. And then apple crisp served piping hot with luscious vanilla ice cream melting all over the top. Yum!

  4. That donut looks fabulous. I haven’t had a one in ages – let alone a pumpkin one. I wish they weren’t so dang fattening. 😦 And I so miss the awesome apple cider we used to get at almost any apple orchard or farm market in the fall.

  5. I have to admit I always look forward to pumpkin pie (my guilty pleasure). Have not tried a pumpkin donut, hummmm sounds like it might be tasty. I also love pumpkin custard ice cream, but have not been able to find it for many years; this used to be the major treat as soon as October hit. Thank you for sharing with us and I wish you happy Fall 🙂

Leave a Reply

