Gluten-Free Girl and Guest Chick JODI VAUGHN!

I’m so excited to welcome another LaLa-lovely author, Jodi Vaughn.

Jodi-Final HeadshotShe’s got a lot to tell us today, so I’ll jump right in with the interview.

GFG: What’s your favorite food?                               JV: Chocolate and Pinot Noir

GFG: Hmm…I love both of those too! Now, what’s your least favorite food?
JV: Licorice and Peppers

GFG: *shudders* I like peppers but not when combined with licorice. 🙂 Let’s move on to something tastier. How about literature… What three books influenced you the most in life?
JV: The Flame and the Flower by Kathleen Woodiwiss
The Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

GFG: I love the Dark Hunter Series, too! Sexy, immortal warriors who fight to the death for the greater good, but still gentle enough to soothe a crying baby. Yep, turns me on every time. Speaking of… What turns you on?
JV: Kindness and gratitude
People who are genuine
Writing!

GFG: Great answers! Now, what turns you off?
JV: Rudeness and arrogance
People who are fake
Being underestimated and counted out

GFG: What’s a fact most people couldn’t guess about you?
JV: I quilt. At least I used to until writing started consuming my time. I hope to start making time to pick it back up, though.

GFG: Fascinating. I’ve never quilted but I admire the work. Now tell us, Vampire, werewolf, zombie, ancient warrior, cowboy, or ghost?
JV: Werewolf! I am writing a series of Arkansas werewolves. I’m on the fourth book. Think Sons of Anarchy meets True Blood!

GFG: I think I can guess, but tell us anyway. What subgenre do you write?
JV: I write paranormal romance.

GFG: I knew it. Okay, take us through a day in your writing life, if you don’t mind.
JV: 5:30 Up with coffee. I usually look over my schedule and answer a few emails.
8:00 After feeding my DS and dropping him off at school, I usually go for a run.
9:30 Showered and dressed I head to the computer. For the next thirty minutes I check out Face book, interact with people from my author page and tweet.
10:00 Writing time! I already know how many pages I need to write so I get started. I write until about lunch.
12:00 Lunch time and laundry or household chores I need to get caught up on.
1:00 Back to writing until time to pick my DS up from school
2:30 In car line. And reading.
3:30 Homework and getting stuff ready for dinner.
4:30 Writing for thirty minutes before I cook
5:00 Cook
6:00 Dinner
630 Clean up the kitchen and pick up around the house.
7:00 Head out to the pond and feed my swan. Maybe go for a walk with my husband before gathering the family for a movie in the basement.
9:00 Finish anything writing related business. Getting my pages done, check email, blogging (which I’ve slacked off on) and tweet.
10:00 Look over writing schedule for tomorrow. Head to bed with a book!

GFG: Wow, I wish my writing schedule was a regimented as yours! You’re a dynamo! 🙂 Hey, where can readers find you in the next six months? (Conferences and/or book signings)
JV: I will be signing books at the Moonlight and Magnolias Conference October 5th from 4:30-6:00 at the Atlanta Hilton Northeast in Norcross, Georgia. It’s a book signing for literacy and there will be a ton of other great authors there as well! So drop by and see me!

GFG: And for those folks (like me) who cannot get to the M&M Conference. Where can we find you on the internet?
JV: http://jodivaughn.comtweet me @JodiVaughn1

GFG: Jodi, tell us about VEILED SECRETS, please.

JV: “When Fairies and Demons collide, all hell breaks loose.”

 Celeste Hart has never been accepted by society because of her dark visions and has vowed to let nothing stop her from uncovering what she is, good, bad or evil. But she is distracted from her quest when

Veiled Secrets cover

Available at Amazon Oct 1. ISBN# 978-0-9825370-8-4

sexy Eric Nordstrom charms his way into her heart and into her bed. He leaves her even more confused by her intense feelings for him and she soon realizes their one night of passion has resulted in something that will change them forever, a child.

CEO Eric Nordstrom has no interest romance and even less in a relationship. His company has always been his mistress, but he can’t stop thinking about the elusive Celeste, who has made him feel more in one night than he has in his entire lifetime. When he learns of the pregnancy, he convinces Celeste to marry him on the pretense of keeping the company from another scandal while trying to seduce her back into his arms.
While Celeste tries to fit into Eric’s elite world, she discovers her visions are a result of having Fae blood. When the vengeful Queen of the Fairies sends a demon army to take her unborn child, Celeste must embrace her fairy heritage and enlist Eric’s help in her fight. Thrust into a world he doesn’t understand yet determined to protect the woman he loves, Eric joins forces with Celeste to protect their unborn child from the evil that has invaded their home.
Fate brought them together, will destiny rip them apart?
17 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl and Guest Chick JODI VAUGHN!

  1. Hi Jodi! I can’t wait to get my copy of VEILED SECRETS. I’m so excited for you…and I may just copy your schedule for my own. It seems to be working very well for you. Good job! You need to post a couple pictures of your quilts on your website. Would love to see them. 🙂

    • Jaye, that’s a great idea about posting some of my quilts! I actually have a Halloween one that would be perfect for October.

    • Thanks Valerie! Congrats on your new release Secrets of a Scandalous Marriage. Now I’ve got to buy it add to my Valerie Bowman collection!

  2. Congratulations on your debut, Jodi. Have fun at your signing! It’s a trip!

    I’ve done some quilting in my day. My mom used to make them before her eyesight got too bad, and when she had the big frame set up in the basement, I’d do my share of the stitching.

    • Ashlyn, there is something calming and creative while sitting under a quilting frame taking stitch by tiny stitch! I’d love to see some of those quilts!

  3. Aren’t car lines crazy? My poor kids; I make them wait ’til the end because I’m not going to sit there for half an hour with my car idling. 🙂 Course, that also means I can stay at work longer. I wish I had the writing time that you have!

    • Exactly Abigail – my child is almost always, as he puts it, “The last kid in my grade to get picked up!” They stop taking numbers at 3:10 and I usually round the corner about 3:09:59:59.
      He’s happier on Mondays and Tuesdays when the sitter’s husband picks him up in the first line-up.

    • Abigail,
      I’ve learned to take advantage of the car line. Making the use of each moment is something Madeline Martin taught me!

  4. Robin,
    That’s a perfect writing day. I strive for it, but don’t always make it! I’ve learned not to beat myself up over it!

  5. Hello, Jodi! Welcome to the Chicklets! I’m one of your LaLa sisters who’s lost her way for awhile. Some day I hope to return. 🙂

    I’m totally with you on the pinot noir – my fave is Woodbridge – and Kathleen Woodiwiss is my all-time favorite author with Karen Marie Moning a firm runner up. Have you read Karen’s Highlander or Fever series?

    Veiled Secrets sounds fabulous! I’ve been struggling to read of late and your story sounds like one I’d love. I wish you the best of luck with it!

    • Lis’Anne, I’m anxiously awaiting your return to the LaLaLa’s so I can get to know you better!
      I will check out Karen Marie Moning’s books for sure!
      Thanks for all your sweet congratulatory words!
      Lalala!

Leave a Reply

