Fall slaw for one

Because I cook for myself—and only myself—almost all of the time, I have trouble with recipes made for a crowd. Giant bowls of potato salad, pasta salad and my favorite Broccoli Crunch Salad are hard for me to polish off before they go bad.

My concerted effort to spend more time in the kitchen this month is paying off with a slew of new recipes to try. The one I’m sharing today, Fall Slaw, is a variation on the Fall Slaw with Asian Pears and Almonds that I found on GreenLiteBites.

 

Fabulous Fall Slaw | Arlene Hittle/Chicklets in the KitchenI didn’t try Roni’s version, mainly because there are no Asian pears at my house. However, my slaw also features some of the flavors of fall.

Better yet, it’s quick (courtesy of the bagged cole slaw mix), easy (for the same reason) and delicious (I think that has a lot to do with the apple cider in the dressing and the Honeycrisp apples mixed in with the cabbage).

I can eat the whole bowlful in one sitting. It makes a great, filling afternoon snack. If you’d like to feed a crowd, just double or triple the recipe.

Fabulous Fall Slaw
Recipe Type: Salad
Cuisine: American
Author: Chicklets in the Kitchen
Prep time: 10 mins
Total time: 10 mins
Serves: 1
Ingredients
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider
  • 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon sour cream
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg and fresh-ground sea salt to taste
  • 1/2 large apple, chopped
  • 2 cups of bagged cole slaw mix (tri-color)
Instructions
  1. Whisk cider, mayo and sour cream in a good-sized bowl until smooth.
  2. Add seasonings and whisk again.
  3. Add apple and cabbage mix.
  4. Toss to coat.
  5. You can eat it right away or refrigerate for an hour or longer to let the flavors blend.
Serving size: 1 Calories: 215 Fat: 13 Saturated fat: 3 Carbohydrates: 26 Sugar: 18 Sodium: 123 Fiber: 6 Protein: 3 Cholesterol: 15

Bon appétit!

5 thoughts on “Fall slaw for one

  1. Wow, that sounds delicious. Thanks for the recipe, Arlene. I think I’ll try it next week at Thanksgiving. We’re all bringing something and I’d love to bring something besides dessert. 🙂

Leave a Reply

